[Story] Fairsong Academy – Sorelle’s Diary

Dear Diary,

My flowers are dying. It made me so sad, I wish there was a way to keep them looking beautiful forever. Even if they were really dead, at least they would look all right. Soon I’ll have to throw them out and I don’t like that idea at all. My cloth flowers are pretty, but they’re nowhere near as delicate and of course they don’t smell like real flowers. I could smell them a little. I’m sure they were much nicer to everyone else. I’m going to look into spells that could do that. Or maybe make an illusion that looks like them, or something.

The rangers came by the other night. I didn’t see the other two, I guess they waited out by the road or maybe they went somewhere else. It’s close to summer so there are a lot of bugs outside at night, which I don’t mind because I like the ones that light up. They’re like little tiny flickers of flame in the sky. I tried to do what Xarola said and talk about normal things, but it’s difficult when you aren’t normal yourself. I talked a lot about my classes, like I always do. I said I think it’s more difficult to do frost magic when it’s warm out. That’s my theory anyway, the way it’s easier to work with existing fire than to conjure your own. Although Professor Raleth says that the frost magic uses the water in the air, and it doesn’t matter the temperature. If I was a frost elemental I wouldn’t want to come out in the summer. I’ve been reading some more of Xarola’s books but I didn’t mention those either. I really don’t see how any of those things are possible. Well, I guess some things might be. Sometimes I realize that I never got a chance to do the things in that book and I get upset because now I never will. It seems unfair. Xarola says it’s not really like that anyway, but I’m not sure how she would know, and also I’d rather find out for myself than listen to someone else tell me about it.

In the books they always say things about their feelings a lot. I don’t think that really happens, at least I’ve never heard people talk like that. I’m not sure yet what I would say, so I suppose that it’s good. I don’t know if I should go to see Hernester or not. It might just make things worse, or it could just be embarrassing. But I would like to see the rangers’ building one day. I know some of the students have been there, Keyalenn and Maerista, but they’re both older. Maybe they only allow older students to go. I could say I was going to visit Lin, she’s the one who came to see me and she seems nice enough. She has a new little baby, too. I don’t know anything about babies or how to hold them. That’s another thing I guess I won’t ever get to learn.

I didn’t mean for this to be a sad entry. Things are all right. I hope the rangers visit again soon, but I need to find something more interesting to talk about.

Leave a comment