[Story] Fairsong Academy – Braedra’s Diary

Isturon hasn’t been around lately. That’s not entirely accurate — he has been around his house. I’ve seen him once or twice in the hallways at the school, and he spends a lot of time chopping wood in his yard. He left a big stack of wood at the side of our house, I’m not sure why because it’s summer, but I suppose it’s better to chop wood before you actually need it. I also think it might give him a reason to be out there without a shirt on. I don’t know if he’s actually avoiding me, or just trying to give me space. I’m not sure which one I prefer, which makes it more complicated. I’m upset with him for keeping secrets, but I think I’m more upset that he doesn’t seem to think he did anything wrong. Or maybe he hasn’t, and I’m just over-reacting. Verisna said it’s very common among arranged marriages, and she would know better than I do. But I already know he’s willing to keep what he’s doing a secret, why wouldn’t he in the future as well? I am sure he’d say it’s different because he chose to be with me, but I still am not sure.

I went to visit Anorelle and deliver the gift for her and the baby. She seemed to love the outfit and the little soft toy. She gave me a tour of the nursery and I agreed it was very cute. I can’t help but feel a little jealous — not about the baby, I’m not really sure that’s something I want at this stage in my life. But because she’s so obviously taken with Arancon, you can see it whenever she talks about him. I wish I felt that way. Maybe I could, and it’s just my own worry and doubt blocking the way. She told me about their dinner with Aeramin and Imralion, and said she hoped that Aeramin would continue to work on his relationship with his father. There were times it was a little tense, she thought, but overall it went well. And he maybe was coming around to the idea of a sibling. It can’t be easy to be an only child for over a century and then suddenly not be. Anorelle seemed a little confused by the books but she said she knew what they were, a lot of the lady rangers lend them around the quarters.

And then yesterday afternoon I had coffee with Verisna again. Actually, she had coffee and I had one of their fruit drinks. It was far too hot for coffee in my opinion! I’m not sure what kind of fruit was in it, they said the names but I didn’t recognize all of them. They use fancy exotic fruits from all around the world. Regardless, it was very good and refreshing. Bailas was with her, which I assume means they’re trying to work things out. I’m glad, I think she was being a little too harsh on him, he just made a mistake. Maybe I’m being too harsh on Isturon too, but then again, we aren’t married either. That was mostly what I talked about, I’m just not sure what to do. I mentioned maybe talking to Keyalenn’s father some more, and Verisna mentioned that she knew him. Evidently he’s popular to have at parties. She also said she knew several married men who are looking for company. I don’t think that’s the sort of thing I want, but I am not really sure, am I? She said there is a meeting place for singles on the island, people go there to meet and have drinks and the like. I’ve never been to the island, that’s for rich people. She also told me about a beach where no one wears clothes, and suggested I should go there. I don’t think so! I’m sure no one wants to see me without robes on, and I definitely don’t want to see any old men in that state. Still, a vacation could be nice. I know I just went on one, but maybe I could go alone to have time to just think about things. I could ask the lady in the womens’ building to check on the girls, or they could stay there temporarily. I don’t have the money for something like that right now though, so it’s only a dream for now.

Leave a comment