[Story] Fairsong Academy – Loralinde’s Journal

I started looking for someone who might be able to help me talk to ghosts. I figured that a priest might be the best person for that, they also might be able to help me learn how to speak draenei, because they should be friendly and patient if they are priests. At least, I think so. I asked about where to find some, and everyone pointed me to the big temple up on the tier. I did try going there, but I think they were all in the middle of something important, because they were all gathered around in one room. Also, it was very quiet and no one else was talking. I felt odd and out of place, and I guess I found it all a bit intimidating. Keyalenn reminded me that there were injured people in the lower part of the city, and there were surely some priests there with them. So while he went to look at the market, I did that.

I was surprised to see orcs and trolls there among the injured, as well as some draenei and other people like the birds and little mushrooms. I think it must be interesting to live among so many different kinds of people. I guess sometimes there are some in the city, but not too often. It’s almost always just elves. They probably don’t feel very welcome there, which I guess I can understand, but it would be neat to learn more about them, and especially about their ghosts. I know they have shamans who can talk to the elements, which is not really the same, but they may know something about ghosts, too. I’d like to talk to some, one day.

Anyway, I found a draenei woman tending to the injured people there in a little building. She was by herself, which was a lot less intimidating. Also, she spoke Orcish. That surprised me a little, but it makes sense if she’s healing a lot of orcs and trolls. I told her that I was wanting to learn how to speak draenei, which of course made her curious so she asked why. Then I told her about wanting to be able to speak to the ghosts in the tomb. She seemed wary about that, and wanted to know my reasons. I can understand why. There isn’t much trust between elves and draenei, even still, and someone could easily have bad intentions. But I hoped that being honest would show her that I am trustworthy, I told her that I wanted to speak to the ghosts there and study them. She agreed that learning to speak draenei would show them that I am respectful and had taken the time to learn about them first.

She also told me some more about the history of the tomb. I’d read a little in the library, but as history books usually do, they left out some things. And it’s always better hearing about it from a person, especially a person who might have seen it for themselves. She told me that there is a corpse of a naaru, that draws the ghosts too it. When I asked why, she said they were drawn to its energy, and that it protects the spirits there. I wonder too if it serves the same sort of purpose as they do in our world, only to spirits. It’s definitely something to look into. But, it’s also dangerous to stay there too long because the void energy will eventually corrupt you — it happened to the former keepers of the tomb. None of that was in the book! I think sometimes they try to make things sound better and leave out unpleasant things like that. I know it happens in our history books anytime we did something not so good.

I told her about the ghosts at our school and how I am studying them. I said something about how there aren’t any draenei there, but I wish there were. That was sort of a hint. But maybe the headmaster would allow it? We have kaldorei there, so why not? The priest kind of perked up at that and said that she’d like to learn Thalassian so she could speak to the elves here. I know a lot of them either don’t speak Orcish, or pretend they don’t. So I said I could teach her, and she could teach me. She’s busy during the evenings, but free in the daytime. I’m so excited to have a real draenei to teach me instead of just books! And I get to help her too, which makes it even better. She seems really nice. We met at the restaurant for dinner with Keyalenn and the draenei’s brother. He’s really big. I’d never seen one that close before and I can’t get over how big he is. He kept talking to her in draenei, I don’t think he really trusts us yet. But soon I’ll be able to talk to him in draenei and I can prove that I’m not going to cause any trouble. I only wish we could stay here longer to study! Maybe after the summer, Haani (that’s her name) could come back to the school with us. Wouldn’t that be something!

3 Responses to [Story] Fairsong Academy – Loralinde’s Journal

  1. Alunaria says:

    I greatly enjoy your stories, thank you so much, they must take long to come up with, I imagine 🙂

    • A lot of them are based on in-game RPs! If you’re interested you could join, you don’t even need to be on the same server because of cross-realm grouping. As long as it’s a US server 🙂

      • Alunaria says:

        Oh, gosh, I would have loved to! I used to RP during WoD, and I adored it so much. Sadly, I am from Europe, but thank you a bunch for the offer though 🙂

        Sometimes I do consider to transfer my character to a RP server again, if only to observe in cities; there is just something about it that adds an “alive feeling” to the entire game 🙂

Leave a Reply

