[Story] The Ghostclaw – Faeris’s Journal

Today is our first full day on the island. We arrived last night on the boat, we could have just got a portal from one of the mages at the school, but I wanted the whole experience of getting to ride on the boat and seeing the island get closer. It isn’t a very long ride, but they have snacks and drinks and you can stand up on the deck in the breeze. I’m glad I reserved the room ahead of time, because they were really busy — it’s the summer and everyone wants to go visit the beach. The room I got overlooks the harbor, so you can see the boats coming and going from the docks. You can also see the sun setting in the evening, making the ocean look all red and gold, it’s really pretty. The room itself is fancy as well, there’s a huge tub and bed, and a little ice-box with different kinds of drinks in it. There’s also a paper with things you can order if you don’t feel like going to one of the restaurants. It’s pretty expensive, but we’re on vacation so I’m not worrying about how much we’re spending. Besides, I have plenty saved up. I haven’t really spent anything since I came to the rangers, and I don’t plan to buy anything big for a long time. I don’t mind spending a lot on something that we’re both really going to enjoy and remember for a long time. Especially because I don’t think Julan’s ever really had a real vacation before. He’s so excited about everything, it’s like he doesn’t know what to do first.

I wanted to go down along the beach today, aside from swimming in the ocean there are all sorts of little shops along the beach where you can get food or drinks, or candy. There’s one kind there that I really like, it’s soft and squishy and they make it in all different flavors. There are also games you can play to win prizes, like they have at the Darkmoon Faire. Julan said they’re all just rigged, which they probably are, but I wanted to win him a prize anyway. I spent way too much on the game where you knock bottles down with a ball, but I finally got a red toy dragonhawk. Its eyes are kind of crooked, but it’s cute. We looked for shells on the beach and went in the water (it was colder than we expected). Being here reminds me of those trips I used to go on when I was little, except I’m here with Julan and not my parents. That makes it even better, not that being with my parents was bad or anything, but I’m doing whatever I want to do and with someone I want to be there. I guess it’s because I never really did anything like this before, I mean sure there were people that I saw in Silvermoon, but it was never really serious. And we never did things like going on a trip together. Julan is different, and I really want him to have a good time and have good memories of being here with me. I hope he is, it seems like it. Although we did both get kind of sunburned, that’s not so good. But tonight I want to go to one of the restaurants, there are a lot and they’re all really good. I know this trip is going to be over too soon.

Leave a Reply

