[Story] Fairsong Academy – Sorelle’s Diary

Dear Diary,

I waited outside in the garden for the rangers to come. Normally, students aren’t allowed out of their room that late, but the Headmaster makes an exception for me because I don’t need to sleep and thankfully he understands that it’s too boring to stay in bed for all that time. I like to think that it means he trusts me, too. It’s not that I’m doing anything bad, I’m either studying, or sewing, or in the greenhouse usually. I might practice spells, but nothing with fire. Even though the practice rooms are warded, I think it’s too dangerous without a teacher present. Lately I’ve been trying to work on my frost magic, it doesn’t come easily to me at all so it’s less embarrassing to practice when no one else is around.

Salenicus said the other two rangers wait out on the road while he’s here. I think they probably peek in and watch, I don’t really like that but I can’t blame them I guess. Just standing around would be boring. Salenicus says that Sorrowmoss doesn’t like talking, or taking breaks for that matter, so it’s probably just Orledin who is peeking. Anyway, I told him about the frost magic and he was asking about it. He could probably tell from my answers that I don’t even understand frost theory very well. He said they saw big spiders and bats on their patrol, and Orledin got scared of the bats and ran away. I said he should see the big ones they have in Undercity, you can ride on them. Not that I would, I am pretty sure they have diseases, though I suppose it doesn’t matter now. They’re still creepy, but I wouldn’t run away from them I don’t think. Maybe I would, if it was flying right at me.

He gave me a little bunny that he carved out of wood. It’s very nice, I’m going to paint it later. I said it would be cute to have a whole herd of them all painted different colors, but then I realized that wasn’t very nice to say because it sounded like I didn’t appreciate it enough or something. But if he’s like me, he probably needs something to do when he’s not on patrol anyway. I’m also going to get some little beads for the eyes, I think that would make it look realistic. He told me about his family that he lost back in the attacks. He had two sons, I didn’t know he was that old. I think it’s hard to tell with elves. I’m not sure how I should feel about that, it’s a big thing to get over. But then, I think everyone here must have lost something, some (like us) just lost more than the others. I told him I think it would be easier if we were still alive, we’d still have lost family and friends, but at least we’d have that. I don’t know. I try not to get sad about it, but sometimes it’s hard.

Like I said that I wanted to go swim, because it’s summer, but all of the swimming clothes don’t cover your arms and legs. I don’t want anyone seeing those, because they don’t look that great. You can see bones in some places even though I’m careful. There’s just nothing I can do about it. Salenicus suggested that I should get one that covers them, but that’s sort of the purpose of swimming clothes, right? Something so simple, alive people don’t even have to think about it. I wish I could just wear a cute swimming dress and go lay on the beach and splash in the water and look at boys without having to worry about all of that.

He told me about Silvermoon, too. I think he was trying to make it sound less interesting so I wouldn’t feel bad that I can’t go. I said I used to live in Dalaran, and he said it’s not as nice as that. But I bet it is. I’ve seen it from far away, the towers are so beautiful. I do miss Dalaran, I mean before. We used to stop after class at the baker’s cart and get little treats and walk to the park to eat them. On spring and summer days you could smell the flowers on the breeze. I think Silvermoon must be at least that nice.

Leave a Reply

