[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

Classes are out for the summer, which means Hethurin has more time to spend with the kids. Malwen has still been helping me outside, the garden is in full bloom and it smells wonderful when the afternoon sun warms all of the flowers. She’s taken quite an interest in them; she knows all of their names and can tell you the parts of the plant and some of its uses. She’s really very smart, maybe that’s a side effect of living at a school. I made her own little section in the greenhouse that she can use to plant things, I think next spring we’ll do a vegetable garden too. I think she’d really like that, because then we could use them at dinner time.

Speaking of vegetables, my mother has been onto me about Hethurin eating his again. I’m pretty sure it’s because Hethurin’s father has been staying here, and he’s always telling Hethurin that he needs to eat something other than cake. So I think that’s my mother’s way of gently reminding me to try to talk him into it. Believe me, I’ve tried. And it’s not that I disagree with her, I do wish he’d eat a little better, and it is setting a bad example for the children if he doesn’t. But he does try, although I think sometimes he hides it in his sleeve, he at least pretends to eat them. Malwen is smart though, I think she’ll figure it out if she hasn’t already. Maybe he’d eat vegetables if she was the one who grew them? That might work. I already do my best to sneak them in where he won’t notice, like mixing them into other things or using vegetables where you wouldn’t expect them to be. Luckily the kids eat them all right so far. I’ve been helping Tik make soft food for Galandil and Tik’s baby, since they are pretty much the same age it’s easier to just make one big batch. Though I expect they’ll like different things and we’ll figure that out eventually. So far he’ll eat pretty much everything, I hope he stays like that because that makes things a lot easier.

Since classes are out, my mother doesn’t have much to do now that we don’t need her help as often. She used to do paperwork at the Spire, but there isn’t a lot of that in the summer either. She’s asked if she can help Lali with the younger class once school starts up again, I think she just wants to be able to hold all the babies, but she’d be good at it. We still haven’t found a proper teacher, but if they’re just little babies she could probably teach them. I mean, all you have to teach babies is the letters and colors and things like that. I’m not sure if Hethurin’s father is staying either. He was staying until he got better, but I don’t think that will be too much longer. We already have the clinic in town, but maybe he could help if students got small injuries or things like that? I don’t know. The builders are already booked up through the whole summer. I don’t dare ask them if we can add any more houses onto their list.

Leave a Reply

