[Story] Fairsong Academy – Irael’s Journal

Felarius has been going to get lessons away from the school, I asked him about it just because I was curious. At first he tried to lie but he’s not very good at it, plus he must know that I can keep a secret. He’s the only student here that I’d trust with a secret, and maybe Professor Firewind but he’s not a student. Anyway it wasn’t that hard to figure out, because he leaves at the same time and takes books and quills with him. Most of us hardly ever leave, so it wasn’t hard to notice. He’s getting lessons in summoning, and I guess the Headmaster knows about it. He only allowed it because the lessons are away from the school. That makes sense, I can only imagine what the rich students’ parents would say if they knew people were summoning demons inside the school. Felarius said he hasn’t summoned any yet, right now he’s just learning fel fire and studying the different kinds of demons. It’s a lot of extra work in addition to his regular classes, but the spring term is finishing so he should be less busy now. Felarius said it’s important to study demons so we can better protect against them, which I guess makes sense but it still seems like a bad idea to me. I mean, I’m sure I can find enough trouble without bringing demons into it. Oh yeah, and he said one of the demons wanted to eat him, but his instructor (Magister Firewind) wouldn’t let it. How could you even possibly want to study them after that? I would have been out of there. Magister Firewind is teaching him, along with someone else he doesn’t know as well. I was surprised by that, but I guess if anyone at the school would know about summoning, he makes the most sense. Felarius also said that’s how he got his face burned, which also makes sense. That’s another thing that would discourage me from wanting to study it, if I were him.

I’m not going to tell anyone. I still think it’s a bad idea, but I’m not going to say anything. He’s the only one here who knows what it’s like, where we are from and all of that. I still talk to him more than anyone else, even if he has weird ideas sometimes. And hopefully he can tell me funny stories about demons later on.

Fire class is going pretty well. The others aren’t so much, but I’ll have the whole summer to study and practice. I don’t have any plans to go anywhere, unless the Headmaster arranges a trip for us again. I liked Shattrath, it was interesting, and they have different books there so it’s kind of fun to go. I think some of the other students are going on trips on their own or with their families. My mother has settled in pretty well, I think. She seems happy in her little house and she’s even started doing some paintings on her own in her free time. She used to get home so late at night that she wasn’t able to, the hours here aren’t as bad. She painted little flowers and vines on all of her cabinets in the kitchen, it’s really cute. It’s good to see her doing something for herself after all that she did for me.

Leave a Reply

