[Story] The Ghostclaw – Faeris’s Journal

I’m planning a trip for Julan and I, kind of an anniversary thing even though I actually came to the rangers in the fall. So it can be a little early, that’s okay. Julan didn’t say anything anyway, so either he doesn’t mind that it’s a bit early or he doesn’t remember when I got there. I had to look back in my journal to find out. I wrote about him back then, too. It’s a little weird to read it now — I didn’t write anything bad, of course, it’s just strange because I didn’t know how important he’d turn out to be and how he’d change things. I think he might have been a little reluctant, I told him we could go anywhere he wanted, which is true. I have plenty saved up from our wages — what am I going to spend it on out here? And I can borrow some from my parents if need be. I have everything I need here, including a place to live, so why not spend it on something we’ll both enjoy? Julan said he didn’t know where he wanted to go. I’m not sure if that’s true or he just didn’t want to say. He must have thought about places? Or maybe he just thought he’d never get to go, so it wasn’t something he worried about.

I kind of picked for us, I suggested we should go to the island. Yeah, it’s kind of boring and cliche but there’s a reason it’s so popular. It’s really nice. The beaches are beautiful, with clear blue water and white sand, and the hotels are built right along the shore. There are all sorts of restaurants and places to drink, there’s even a boardwalk with games where you can win prizes. It’s the kind of place that everyone wants to go. I used to go with my parents every year, and I enjoyed it enough, but I’m really looking forward to going with Julan. We’ll have our own room, and he always makes things more fun. He said he’d been once, when he was really little, but he hardly remembered it. That was before the attacks though, so everything’s been rebuilt since then. It’s a lot fancier, a lot more busy than it was when I was little. My other idea was the goblin resort, but he didn’t seem to sure about that one. Honestly, he’s probably right to be wary. If I’m going to lose a bunch of gold gambling, I’d at least rather do it in a place that’s beautiful, with good food and drinks instead of smelly goblins and whatever those things they hire are. I really hope he likes it, but I’m not worried at all. Once he sees the hotel and our room he’s going to flip. They even have a menu you can order food and they bring it right to your door. I think Julan was a little worried about the cost, but he shouldn’t be. I’ll take care of it, I want to do this for him.

There shouldn’t be any trouble at all getting a few days off. The Captain always gives people time when they ask for it, and it’s not like we’re really busy right now anyway. And it’s the first time I’ve asked, so I am definitely due for some.

Leave a Reply

