[Story] Fairsong Academy – Sorelle’s Diary

Dear Diary,

I asked Xarola what to do, and she said that she thinks he definitely likes me, because he comes to visit all the time. I don’t know if that’s true, because Orledin comes to visit all the time too, though he spends all his time in the kitchen. I just thought he came along because he was bored, or to keep an eye on Orledin or something. I can see him doing something like that. I said I didn’t think so, because he’d never given me any signs or anything like that. I also told Xarola about how they treat Hernester, and she said I should go and talk to the captain there. I really don’t think he would listen to someone he doesn’t even know. A lot of people don’t like being told they are doing things the wrong way. Xarola said he’d listen to me because I’m undead and I know more about it, well that’s not really true in my experience. Then when I was already there I could talk to Salenicus. But I don’t even know what I would say. He stopped coming to visit anyway, so I thought that was the end of it. Then Linarelle came to see me and I told her about it, and I guess she talked to him because he changed his mind and brought flowers.

They were nice flowers. I’m pretty sure they were bought in the city because they aren’t ones that grow here, and it’s still a bit too cold for flowers. There was a card too, with a poem. He didn’t write it but he said that was how he feels. It was a nice poem. I didn’t know he felt any of those things. I mean, just because I’m the only person here who is undead too. I guess there’s the ranger, but she doesn’t talk to them. So he picked me because I’ll talk to him. He said that he was lonely, I can understand that at least. But it’s a long way to go just to talk to someone every day. I mean, we can’t do any of the things in the book — well, most of them anyway. That’s another thing, he said his wife used to read those books. I don’t know what to think about that. Does he still miss her? He probably does. He’s a lot older so I should have figured he would have had a family before. He also said he doesn’t care that I’m a human. Obviously I don’t care that he’s an elf, but I think elves tend to care a little more about that kind of thing.

They have the night patrol, but they take a couple of breaks during the night. I said it would probably be okay to meet outside in the garden, as long as I tell Tik. It wouldn’t be a good idea for them to be coming inside in the middle of the night, it might wake people up and scare them. But out in the garden, or the woods would be okay. Salenicus said he was going to try to get Orledin and the other ranger to stop here. I hope they aren’t just going to be standing around the whole time. That would be awkward.

Leave a Reply

