[Story] Sorelle’s Diary

[[ Kids are off on Spring Break this week, we’re also preparing for our moving sale next weekend, so it’s kind of busy around here. Doing my best to write anyway! ]]

Magister Fairsong brought me some wood from the city. There’s a cloth bag and it’s full of little pieces, all different sizes and colors. I don’t know what kind of wood any of them are, but they seem like they’re nice. Definitely nicer than firewood for carving. Most are squares or rectangles but some are triangles, or have a little curve. There are also some metal tools and a book about how to carve things. I don’t know how much Salenicus knows about it, so hopefully the book is useful to him. I have everything ready for the next time they bring bread. I tried to give Magister Fairsong some money for it, but he said it was okay. That was nice of him. When I asked him about going, he thought it was for me. I guess I could have said it was, but then he’d notice when I was never carving it. Maybe I could learn too, but I already have my own hobby. Two, actually, sewing and gardening. I just said it was for someone else, I’m pretty sure he could figure it out because no one else ever talks to me for more than a few minutes, besides teachers anyway.

I think he was kind of upset about that, like he thinks they should be spending more time with me. If they don’t want to, that’s okay. I don’t want him to force them, having people pretend to like you doesn’t feel good. It’s my hope that eventually they will get used to me and someone will be able to see past it, but it does take time. I’m not ashamed to admit that I probably wouldn’t have wanted to talk to a dead person before, either. Loralinde is really interested in ghosts, so I have a feeling she might ask me about that. It’s kind of her hobby, I guess. Even being a magic student, you need something to do in your own time. She says she talks to the different ghosts here and is trying to study them. I don’t know how the ghosts feel about it. If I was a ghost it might feel like she was being kind of nosy, but I’m not a ghost. I have seen some in the ruins of Lordaeron though, and there are other kinds of undead there. I could tell her about those if she asks me. If she really wanted, she could go and see them for herself but I do not recommend it. That city is really disgusting and smelly. I’m dead and even I could smell it.

He also asked a lot about the ball, like if I was going to go. I can’t eat anything, so it’s awkward to just sit around and watch everyone else dance. It just makes me feel sad and more left out. I didn’t want to say that because I think he already felt guilty when I said that people don’t talk to me. But even he didn’t allow undead until recently, or did he forget about that? Orledin and Salenicus weren’t even allowed to come in until I came here. And that was only because Magister Raleth vouched for me. If not for him, I wouldn’t be allowed here at all. I don’t know, I thought about sewing a new dress, I have some nice pastel fabric and I could make some fabric flowers to go on it. I can’t use real flowers because I don’t want to pick them from the garden, plus these ones won’t die. But it seems like it would be a waste to make a dress for a party I won’t even stay at. I still have a little while to decide.

Leave a Reply

