[Story] Imralion’s Journal

Aeramin’s started giving lessons in our house now. It’s one of the kids from the school, and he’s interested in learning the sort of magic that Aeramin knows. He explained that it’s better the kid learn properly and safely, without experimenting on his own. That makes sense, and it has to be here because that kind of stuff might give the school a bad reputation. The student’s not supposed to tell anyone about it, but I am a little skeptical if that’s possible. I know how much kids at school talk, I remember how much we talked in blood knight training — most of them still talk a lot. I guess he won’t if he wants to stay at the school, but it’s hard keeping something to yourself when you’re really excited about it. I just hope he doesn’t talk to the wrong person about it, and I guess he’ll have Aeramin, though he’s not a fellow student.

They won’t be learning anything dangerous right off; he’s mostly still learning theory I think, and Aeramin is going to teach him about the different kinds of demons. I’m sure I still have my books, but those are more focused on how to kill them rather than how to use them, so it’s probably not too helpful. I promised that I’d stay closeby in case any demons got any funny ideas. The imps probably won’t, they’re mostly well-behaved (if annoying), but some of the larger ones are more dangerous. Aeramin said he wants me around if he ever summons the felguard, because it’s still got a bad attitude toward him and will try to escape. Let’s see if it can escape a sword! I won’t kill them unless I have to, but I have no problem doing it if it comes to that.

He also suggested that I go see my sister soon, he’s going over to the rangers’ to reinforce the wards. I really should, he’s my only nephew after all, and he is cute. It’s just awkward having to talk to Sunashe and my mother, too. If I’m lucky, it’ll just be Lin who is home, but I doubt it’ll work out that way. I would guess she’s back on her patrol, at least part-time. Aeramin said the woman at the  school is already back working at the stables, and she just had one. There are going to be a whole lot of boys starting school all at once in a few years.

The spring ball will be soon, too. It’s always all flowery and pastel, I feel like my armor sticks out awkwardly. I suggested maybe I could wear a nice shirt or something, but Aeramin would have to help me find one, I’m no good at picking out clothes. I think a pastel robe would be too much though.

Leave a Reply

