[Art] Photography – Oakland Cemetery

I’m not really a photographer, but I liked these shots I took of a cemetery near me so I’m posting them here. This cemetery is quite old and dates back to the Civil War, but in recent years has fallen into disrepair because its owners lost interest in maintaining it and have moved out of state. Thankfully, there are volunteer groups that regularly help clean it up but there are still some brush and weeds, and many broken stones. But it does have a lot of personality, I took some photos of stones that caught my eye, it’s so neat to see the stories that they tell.

Some of my favorites are the hand-painted ones. I think the saddest are the two children who died two days apart at Christmastime in 1918, most likely from the flu.

Leave a Reply

