[Story] Fairsong Academy – Sorelle’s Diary

Orledin brought way too much bread. He disappeared into the kitchen again, which is strange because I don’t think Tik is even in there, he’s still looking after Lilithel and the baby. Terellion might be, so I suppose they were talking about cake and flour and baking things. I didn’t know there was so much to discuss about baking. I think I would get frustrated baking things all the time and never being able to taste them, but I guess Orledin doesn’t mind. I do think it’s important for undead people to have a hobby though. We have so much more free time, we have to fill it with something. It’s also my theory that it helps keep your brain from deteriorating.

Salenicus said you can slow it down by taking good care of yourself and not getting too damp, but I already knew that. I always am careful to keep clean, it’s almost important to check regularly for pests and make sure you don’t get too cold because your fingers or toes could freeze off without your even noticing. Thankfully I don’t think it gets that cold inside, but Salenicus goes out into the woods and it’s a lot colder there. He doesn’t seem too worried about it though, maybe they have really thick socks or something. He said he has a hobby but he was really embarrassed about saying what it is. It’s just whittling, like wood carving. He says he’s not good at it, but that doesn’t matter, he has plenty of time to practice. I don’t know why he’d be embarrassed about wood carving. I did promise to look in the library for books about it. I didn’t find any, but the Headmaster said there’s a furniture shop in Silvermoon that sells books about wood carving, and he’d pick one up next time he is there. Also, I asked if he could get some little scraps of wood to try out carving. I’m sure some are better than others, but I don’t know enough about it to know which ones, but I figure if they use it for furniture it’s probably good. And they have to have little scraps laying around from that. It would probably also help if he had some proper tools, except I can’t afford to buy any of those right now. So I’ll have to save up, or maybe I could see about selling some of the things I’ve sewn. I can’t take them into the city though so I don’t know how I would do that. I guess I could ask someone to take them to one of the stalls, it’s a shame I can’t sit there and sell them though. I know which dresses would look good on which people, their frame and colors and such. I don’t know if the Headmaster would know that, I guess he might, he does have a lot of nice robes.

He said something else weird, he says he doesn’t care if alive people like him because they’re just going to die sooner. I mean, that’s true, but by that time a lot of undead people will have lost their brains too. I think it’s better if everyone likes me, but I know that’s not the case. I wish I didn’t care, I think it would be a lot easier. I try to fit in with everyone else but I still get this awkward feeling around them, like they’re trying not to look at me or something. I’d like to think that I wouldn’t be like that, if I were alive, but it’s impossible to know. It’s not something I even thought about before it happened to me.

Leave a Reply

