[Story] Fairsong Academy – Loralinde’s Journal

Keyalenn and I had a lovely dinner planned in the city, maybe looking at some shops before. We’ve both been so busy lately that it would have been a nice break. But it didn’t happen. The Headmaster came to our house with news that the camp where Keyalenn’s mother had been working was attacked by demons. The Headmaster’s father made it, but Keyalenn’s mother didn’t.

His father came to collect him and we’ve been staying there for a while. Everyone seems almost in a daze, like they don’t really know how to act. I’m doing my best to help, I’m making sure the house is tidy and bringing food, but they’re not really in the mood to eat. I can’t blame them. I try to make sure they get something at least, but I’ve never had anyone near to me die. I don’t know how much it hurts, but I can imagine. If something were to happen to Keyalenn… I wouldn’t even want to think about it. It just seems so unfair. She wasn’t there to fight, she was helping people who were injured. Their camp should have been safe. And her work took her away often enough that her family rarely got to see her — the ones who should have been with her the most. It’s eerie too because we were just talking about spending time with her when she came home, whether she’d like me or not. Keyalenn insisted that she would have, now we’ll never know for certain. I feel sorry for the loss of that friendship I won’t have, all of the things she’ll miss like our wedding and grandchildren — in the future of course. I can’t help but feel it could have been avoided somehow. Maybe we should have written and asked her to come back? I don’t know, it all seems senseless.

Previously Keyalenn was interested in helping with my ghost studies, but I don’t know if he could do it right now. He still has all of his regular studying — I’ve been bringing books from school but as far as I can tell he hasn’t opened them. I’m not saying anything though. But I think talking about ghosts would be too painful for him right now, I’m completely avoiding the subject. Even if they’re draenei ghosts, they might be too much of a reminder.

Depending how long we’re here, I may ask the Headmaster for a temporary leave for him. Maybe me too, I could probably keep up with my work but I’m afraid to leave Keyalenn alone all day when he’s so upset. I have plenty of time to finish, I think it’s more important to make sure that he’s okay right now. I think the Headmaster’s father was injured as well, but I don’t know how serious it is. Between the two new babies, I’ve barely seen anything of him, let alone had the chance to speak to him. I might like to visit him though, just to see he’s all right and to see if he has anything that might have belonged to Keyalenn’s mother. I know he’d want to keep it, if he does.

Leave a Reply

