[Story] Thorns – Harrier’s Journal

I still don’t understand Nash. He won’t let go of that stupid necklace, he’s like a starving dog with a bone. The house it’s in is heavily guarded, probably with magical locks as well. He keeps saying he knows how to get past those. Sure wish he’d share his secret. I keep telling him it’s not worth the risk. There’s a very high chance he’ll be caught, and the guards won’t go easy on him once they see he’s not a human. They’ll torture him and come after us next. I’m not worried about me, but Josie and Rose and Pup had nothing to do with this. They shouldn’t be locked up for Nash’s bad decision. Of course he swears he won’t tell, but I have to wonder if he’s ever been tortured before. Maybe he has. Either way, he’ll be dead or locked in the Stocks and he won’t see any of us again. I pointed that out, but I guess his necklace is worth more to him than that. I just can’t imagine anything that would be worth that much to me. Things can always be replaced. People can’t. I mean, maybe my hat, but I could always get a new one.

I know the necklace has memories attached to it, but they exist apart from the actual thing. I tried to explain that, but I am not sure he agrees. Plus, I’d think he wants to forget about his past. I know I do. Here he has a blank page, none of what happened matters anymore. Why keep holding onto it? I’m not who I was back in Ashenvale, I’m sure Nash isn’t the street kid in Silvermoon either.

I’m working on a new batch of clocks for the shop. Probably some mantle ones and maybe some standing. I’d love to do another really tall one, there’s so much more you can do with a large clock. Granted, the little ones are a fun challenge too, but in a different way. I wish I could get another job like the tower I did for that mage at the school. Maybe someone should suggest it to the mages here. I wonder about the figures I made for the kids, whether they’re broken or thrown out already. Nash insisted that we go and check on them. I really don’t think we’d be welcome back there, and I’m not really keen to go. But I’d fix them up if they were broken, assuming they still had the pieces. Just seems like a waste to me, but I guess there’s probably one kid who really liked it and keeps it carefully on a shelf or something. Does that make it worthwhile? I don’t know.

So I don’t know if Nash is going now or not. He seemed completely set on it, then suddenly he changed his mind again. Unless he’s just saying that so I stop pestering him about it, which is definitely possible.

I got a reply back from Ashenvale. She liked the chocolates, and she’s relieved there aren’t any demons here. They haven’t heard from the old man either. That’s a relief. Hopefully he’s happy somewhere away from the sentinels.

Leave a Reply

