[Story] Fairsong Academy – Irael’s Journal

My mother is now living a few doors away from me. She finally took my advice and came to see if she could get work here. I know she was reluctant because she’s worked at the factory for such a long time and it’s a good job — at least, by Row standards. But I told her how she’d be getting paid more, in addition to the free room and food, which is really good by the way. And of course, living here is a lot safer than the Row, even with the occasional spider and imp. I think part of it is that she wants to be able to keep an eye on me, too. She’s convinced that this school is still some kind of scam and they’re going to sell me to trolls or something like that. She did tell me I’m not allowed to go to any drinking parties. Um, okay, first of all they don’t allow things like that in the girls’ building and second I’m not stupid, I know better. We do have wine with dinner, and at the balls but that’s a fancy party not a crazy one. And I only have one or two glasses anyway.

She said she’s mostly going to be doing laundry, along with some cleaning. She can help in the kitchen if needed, but I think Ter and Menissa probably have that covered, though my mother might help with dishes. I think dishes are a thing you can use a spell for, if anyone in the kitchen knew how to do spells. I think the builders are going to start working on some new things soon, the greenhouse and probably some more small houses. I hope she gets one of those, it would be nice for her to have her own place. I mean, she probably wants some privacy just as I do. Our apartment on the Row wasn’t very large.

I’m just a little bit scared if she talks to people too much, they’re going to know where we are from. My mother didn’t do anything bad there — I might have, but I don’t anymore — but that won’t matter to people whose minds are already made up. I don’t want her to have to keep quiet and never talk to anyone but I’m afraid of what will happen if they do find out.

I don’t know if Lilithel’s baby is born yet. She went to the healers the other day, but she didn’t have a baby when she came back, and I haven’t seen her outside. So maybe she’s just resting. I bet the healers had to force her to do that. Tik’s been taking care of her I think, so he hasn’t been able to do all of his normal stuff. I always try to clean up after myself and make it easier for everyone. My mother is here now to help as well, which must be a relief. I just hope she’s able to stay once Tik comes back, because she won’t be able to get her factory job back.

Leave a Reply

