[Story] Imralion’s Journal

I ended up talking to Arancon after all. I didn’t actually plan it, but he was out in the sitting room eating cookies when I was about to leave from visiting Lin and the baby. She says that Sunashe is being helpful, and doing things, but I still don’t really trust him not to mess up. The baby hasn’t really done anything except sleep in the time I’ve been around though. Lin says he wakes up to eat pretty often but that’s about it. And go to the bathroom, but I don’t want to be around for that either. Anyway, I couldn’t pass up warm cookies.

We didn’t really talk about Aeramin much, or we did, but it was more about how he’s a terrible father and ought to be doing more for Lyorri. I can understand his point of view, but I don’t think he’s seeing it the way Aeramin does. He thinks Lyorri will be upset if Aeramin was around but not involved. I think it’s better to just let her have two parents who actually want her and Aeramin can be like a fun uncle or something. It’s going to be confusing for her either way, and she’ll probably be upset either way. I wish I had the answers, especially since I’ve been through something sort of similar, but I really don’t. I don’t think either of them is totally right or totally wrong. Honestly it makes my head hurt to talk about it so I didn’t argue much. Arancon did talk about his wife a little though. He said after you’re married, you do things just to be nice to them. But Aeramin already does that. He brings me things he knows I like to eat, or makes the bath up, things like that. He doesn’t have to, but he does it because he wants to make me happy. So in that way I don’t see how being married would be any different. But then Arancon said that it makes you change because you have to think of the other person more, but he wouldn’t explain it. He said everyone changes differently. I guess that part could be true, but I think we do that as well.

One interesting thing was that his wife’s father didn’t like him. I guess I can relate to that. At least he doesn’t accuse me of paying for Aeramin’s time anymore though, I guess that’s something. He got really weird when he mentioned Aeramin’s research at the Spire though, like he was hiding something but Arancon didn’t want me to know. It’s not going to work. I know he’s looking up information for someone he used to work with, and it doesn’t bother me. I trust Aeramin, he’s not going to do anything stupid. It seems like Arancon was just trying to cause trouble or something. I don’t even think I want to bring it up with Aeramin because of how obvious it was. I think he’d be offended if I even had to ask about it, so I won’t.

I guess the biggest thing that stuck with me was that he said he’d go back and do things differently. I took that to mean you shouldn’t have any regrets. I don’t think I do, but then you never do at the time, do you? It isn’t until later that you regret things. It’s something to think about anyway. He said he wished he’d never moved them to Silvermoon, or at least had them move and he stay behind. But then I think Aeramin would be upset with him for always being away. There’s always a consequence for your actions, and sometimes you can’t predict it ahead of time. I do believe that he just did what he thought was best at the time. I can’t be mad at him for that, but then I didn’t go through what Aeramin did. Unfortunately I’m not any closer to an answer though.

Leave a Reply

