[Story] Fairsong Academy – Sorelle’s Diary

Dear Diary,

Orledin came to the school again, he baked some little cookies for the baby that looked like a baby head. That sounds weird, but they were cute. I wish I could have eaten one, I bet they were really good. As soon as he arrived, he went right into the kitchen again. I don’t really think he wants to talk. The other death knight came too though, he was out in the sitting room while I was studying. I’m trying to get better at arcane, especially portals, so I’ve been doing extra studying in my free time. I think it would be great to be able to just go anywhere I like. Well, anywhere I’ve seen before, but that’s still a lot of freedom. It’s not that I don’t like it here, just sometimes it would be nice to go somewhere on my own.

He asked what I was reading about and I explained, he also wanted to know what I do when I’m not studying. I said that I like sewing, it’s fun to be able to make something out of just some cloth and thread. I’m not an expert or anything, but I’m pretty good and I can make some nice things. It’s handy when I can’t get to any shops, which I can’t here. I could ask Tik or the headmaster to buy fabric for me I suppose, but they won’t know exactly what I want. I like to be able to see and touch it before choosing. When I lived in the tower I never got fabric so I just had to use whatever was there, those dresses weren’t very nice. Since they’re going to build a greenhouse, I thought I might try gardening as well. I don’t think it would be too difficult and I like the idea of being able to grow something, make something pretty where it wasn’t there before. Plants won’t care that I’m not alive.

From what he said, being a ranger is pretty good. He said he likes that Sunashe yells at him, which I thought was pretty weird, but then he explained that he meant because he’s treated like a regular elf, and not an undead one. That makes sense, though I still don’t think I’d like getting yelled at. There are three undead rangers, they’re all elves but one is a girl too. Plus the one outside. I don’t like that they call him the “lawn ornament”, even if he’s lost his memory it’s still not very nice. I think I’d be upset seeing him there every day and reminding me of what’s going to happen. I hope it doesn’t for a long time. There must be mages working on stopping it, right? If that’s even possible. I’m the first undead person allowed here, and that’s only because Magister Raleth vouched for me. Otherwise I’d still be banned, and so would the undead rangers. I told the death knight that it still feels weird sometimes, like they’re trying to be friendly but they don’t really know how. Which might be true.

I am looking forward to Shattrath though. Salenicus said there’s a market there, and undead aren’t banned, unlike Silvermoon, so I’ll be able to buy things. I have some money saved up so I hope they have some nice fabric. It’ll give me something to do at night that’s not loud. I don’t want to disturb anyone. I also want to get some more journals for writing in. I don’t know what else, maybe some garden tools, but I think Terellion might already have those. But it would be good to have my own.

Leave a Reply

