[Story] Tathariel’s Journal

We don’t often get visitors in the glade. Father and Kelanori used to come now and then, but they’ve been away aiding the war effort. I’m not sure how I even knew he was there, I just had an odd feeling, I suppose. Everyone must have been staring, because he wasn’t very subtle. It was a death knight — a blood elf one — and he was riding on a skeletal raptor. I wonder if he animated it himself, like Jaellynn did for his gryphon. He must have. I was afraid at first, because I was alone. I knew the tauren would act if he tried to attack me, and I could always change into my bear form, but I didn’t want to have to do that.

I asked why he had come, and he said that he was looking for Jaellynn. Then I was more worried. Was he here on behalf of the blood elves he had killed? Or had he come from the death knight stronghold, and they were here to take him back, or worse? Though he had armor on, I didn’t see any weapon, and he wasn’t making any motions to attack. Of course it can be difficult to tell what a death knight is thinking. Believe me, I know. He explained that he’d spoken to Jaellynn before, at the stronghold. I found that a bit unbelievable, because I know how much he dislikes blood elves. But I suppose he would have to get along there, at least temporarily. The death knight said that he was really a baker, not a death knight, and he’d brought cookies for Relanos and I. Well, he said for Jaellynn’s mate and son. So either he really did speak to Jaellynn, or he’d spoken to someone who knew him. That didn’t explain how he found our house. Evidently they have records of all of the death knights there, and he’d just looked it up. That’s a little unsettling.

Finally he told me the real reason he’d come: there was an elf he liked and he is living. He wanted Jaellynn’s advice in that area, I am guessing. I am not sure if he’s the best person to ask. For one, I don’t think he even considered the idea before I brought it up, and even then I think it took some convincing. The fact that this blood elf is interested at all is a good sign though, I think. I didn’t know how to explain the strange people in Darnassus. I told the blood elf that we’d met in Darnassus and we were studying together. I also told him about the orcs. I don’t think he’d be allowed to kill orcs, and it probably wouldn’t impress a blood elf so much. Maybe trolls though, I don’t really know how blood elves think. Mostly I said he should just get to know him as a person, do ordinary things like ordinary people do — as much as he can, at least. It will help him see the death knight as just a person and not a dead person. It does take time though. I hope it works out for him. I’ll have to ask Jaellynn if he knows him and can check up on him later.

I also asked about Sakia. I haven’t seen her for a long time, and I don’t know if she was sent to fight or not. I don’t think she would enjoy it very much if she was. I enjoyed going to the shops with her, and I wonder about her sometimes. Unfortunately, the blood elf didn’t know her. I also think about talking to that alive blood elf in case he wants some advice or something. There must be others out there in my situation.

The cookies were very good. I ate a few, and let Relanos have the rest. He was delighted.

Leave a Reply

