[Story] Fairsong Academy – Menissa’s Journal

It’s so quiet here I think I’m going to go crazy. I guess that was the idea, so I’d bo bored and be forced to stay home every evening and study instead of doing fun things. I do study, but breaks every once in a while are good too! I don’t see why I can’t do both. I don’t mean to complain too much, it is nicer, a lot nicer than I imagined it would be. I have a great room all to myself, and the teachers seem okay. I’ve talked to a few of the students, there’s one named Felarius who is one of the new ones too. So I’ll probably see a lot of him in my general classes, there’s also a girl named Irael who I’ve seen but not talked to yet. When I asked him what he liked to do for fun, he said going to the garden and riding animals. Really? I guess learning to ride a hawkstrider might be kind of fun. They had it at my old school but it was really expensive, for one because you already had to own one. Here they have ones for students to use and I bet I could just ride one if I asked. I’d need a lesson though, maybe the stablekeeper could do it if she’s not too busy. Then at least I could ride around outside in the forest, though the headmaster is always saying how dangerous it is because of the demons. Maybe I’d see one of the rangers though! That would be exciting. I only ever saw them when they were coming into the enclave in the city. Felarius said they’ll be at the winter ball, which should be soon. I don’t really know how a tiny party will be that great, but everyone says it is so I’ll give it a chance. Not like I really have a choice anyway.

I talked to one girl so far, Xarola. She’s studying fire and she’s really interested in herbs and stuff.  I don’t know anything about that, but I guess it’s kind of interesting. She offered to show them to me in the greenhouse and teach me about them, but then she mentioned her boyfriend. I mean, I still might, just because it’s something to do and I would learn something new, but I’d kind of hoped she had another reason for asking. I haven’t talked to the other two yet, one of them is always in her room. Felarius also said there are ghosts, I haven’t seen any yet though. He said one of the girls, Loralinde, knows a lot about them. I haven’t got a chance to ask her either because she lives in one of the houses with a guy. But maybe I could ask her at dinner sometime.

At least my cooking class is going pretty well so far. Tik doesn’t talk very much so sometimes it’s kind of hard to figure out what he wants me to do, like he expects me to just know. I’m not that good at cooking yet! But I’ve been helping do things like cut vegetables and make up the plates and things like that. I’ve seen Terellion making the desserts too. I think about maybe helping with that but it seems a lot more difficult, like having to squeeze the frosting on just the right way. Plus he always seems to be able to do it all himself. It’s interesting though and I like guessing what the cake for that night is going to be while he’s making it!

Leave a Reply

