[Story] Thorns – Harrier’s Journal

[[ Sorry it’s been slow again, we had a plumbing emergency so I have a water leak in my dining room 3 days before Thanksgiving… oh, and the kids are off school for 5 days. ]]

The nights are getting cold, enough that there’s frost sometimes on the ground and windowpanes in the mornings. The winter holiday will be here soon, so I’ve been working hard so we have enough in the shop for all of the people who will be coming in. Just usual stuff mostly, pocketwatches and small clocks, though I always do a few fancier ones just in case. And the animals for the window, of course. Nash said he wanted me to make some to give to kids who don’t have any toys. I haven’t forgotten about that, either. I’m still not sure what a little kid wants with a clockwork animal that’ll probably break anyway. They’d probably rather have a ball or something useful like a knife. But I’ve been making a few a week, in between all of the watches and clocks. Once in a while it’s handy to be awake all night.

Nash got a letter back from the person in Silvermoon. I guess they used to work together, so the guy’s only charging him a few gold to look up the information he needs. When Rose gave him the letter, he tore out of here like he was on fire, she said. He was gone for quite a while, we weren’t sure if he was even coming back. Turns out he’d seen his necklace, being worn by a rich lady. He tracked her to the house where she lives, and wants to plan to get in and get the necklace. He was nervous because there are a lot of guards. That does make it trickier, but not impossible at all. Rich people are paranoid, but they’re also very predictable – they follow a set way of doing things and always do it the same way at the same time. So you just have to watch and learn where the blind spots are. It will take patience, though, and I’m worried he will get too excited about getting his necklace back and rush things. That would be bad. I’d like to help him out if I can, but it’s not a good time right now.

So that’s two really good things for him in one day. He’s going to get his necklace back, and hopefully find out more about his past. I know I should be happy for him. He’s had enough bad stuff happen that he definitely deserves this. But at the same time, I can’t help feeling a little — I don’t know, not jealous, but something like it. Even though I got him a new necklace, it doesn’t matter. He’d rather have the other one. And I’ll never know anything more about my past, no matter who I pay to look it up, because those kind of records don’t exist. Nash was kind of surprised by that. Most kaldorei don’t even live in towns, so it’s impossible to keep track of when everyone is born and things like that. I mean, it’s possible the sentinels might know more; who might have had a baby and given it up, but not likely. I’ve already asked, anyway, and got no answers. Nash has a vague memory, not a good one, but it’s a memory all the same. I don’t even have that. Maybe that makes it easier to leave all of it behind. If I knew more, I might be tempted to go look for my mother, or my father. And while I do wonder sometimes, I know I’m better off here. The past can stay in Kalimdor.

Nash was saying some weird things about sentinels and druids, too. I would say he should meet some in person to see what I’m talking about, but I know they’d shoot him on sight. Though that’s probably more merciful than having to talk to them. I was telling him about druids and how they sleep for so long and he was really hung up on the fact that they must smell. I mean, I guess? But I’m sure they wash when they get up. The ones in town never smelled, at least that I noticed. But I wasn’t really going up to sniff them either. I got kind of annoyed. I don’t like talking about kaldorei, it reminds me of things I’d rather forget about.

Leave a Reply

