[Story] The Ghostclaw – Sath’alor’s Journal

[[ Starting Legion story stuff with our characters! Like WoD we’ll probably just pick and choose which aspects we use because the lore is kinda… iffy in some parts. Demons have been spotted in the Ghostlands! ]]

I wanted to think it was a joke at first, but Hethurin doesn’t make jokes, at least not like that. He came to show me the flyer, and to ask if I wanted wards made around the building and the cabins. The way he explained it, Aeramin had shown him how to do it properly. I guess all that messing around with demons was actually useful for once. The paper said there are reports of demons showing up everywhere, in places they’ve never been seen before. In some places, there are a lot of them, and structures are there, too. I’m not sure why demons would need structures, but I’m sure it can’t be a good thing. Hethurin’s wards should keep them away from the immediate area, but we have to keep the rest of the forest safe. In the morning I’ll call a meeting and tell everyone what’s happening. I’m going to increase patrols for the time being. I’ll take one too, as long as someone’s there to watch the boys.

I’ll have to tell Nessna tonight, too. The thought of anything happening to her — or to the boys — ties my stomach in a knot. I know we can’t be exempted if there’s a call to fight, but I’ll write in hopes that they keep us here in the Ghostlands. Someone has to be here to protect it, and my rangers are well-trained and know the area well. I hope it’s enough. I know what Nessna will say, because we’ve talked about it before. She’d say it’s better to go and fight, because if we don’t, there will be nothing left of our home. I can understand that, but at the same time… I don’t want to go through that again. I don’t want her to go through that again. Too many elves died last time, Vessen included. That shouldn’t have happened. Nessna should have been able to be happy and not go through all of that pain and sadness. When I went, I didn’t care if I died or what happened to me. But I do now. It would kill me to lose any of them, I don’t think I could take it. I’ll take them and hide, if that’s what it takes. I don’t know if Nessna would let me, though.

I told Hethurin we’ll patrol up by the school, and the day patrols can check the town as well. I don’t know how the town people feel about death knights yet, but maybe they won’t mind if they’re killing demons. I haven’t seen any yet. I don’t know what kind they are. I hope they aren’t the really big ones. Even so, I guess they’d die just like anything else. I don’t know long all of this will go on, either, I don’t think anyone does. I’m hoping for the best, but I’m still afraid.

Leave a Reply

