[OOC] Scares that Care Weekend

I just wanted to post a couple of pictures from the horror convention I attended this weekend. I’d actually been looking for one for a while, and a dealer at the local anime con told me about this one. It was such a great time, really good size with tons of dealers and lots of activities including author readings, film festival, and even things for kids like trick or treating and a zombie hunt. They had so many great author guests, I was sure to plan to bring lots of cash to buy a lot of books! To me, the best thing about the convention is that all the money raised goes to help people with medical bills, every year they choose 3 recipients. There was a burn victim, a lady with breast cancer, and a sick little girl. I read on their Facebook that they were able to give $10,000 to each. That’s awesome!! I will definitely go again if I’m in the area.

Listening to the author talks, and chatting with the folks at the Horror Writers Association table got me all excited about trying to write horror again. I’ve never really tried it, so I don’t know how it would go, but I can only get better if I practice.

Unfortunately my phone battery drained really fast so I couldn’t take as many photos as I wanted, there were lots of great costumes. Also, if you’re sensitive to (fake) blood and gore you might want to skip them! The last image is of my “loot”! I bought tons of books, some really nice wax melts, and a creepy skull baby doll.

Leave a Reply

