[Story] Fairsong Academy – Irael’s Letter

Dear Mother,

I have been studying very hard. You should see how thick the books are! Right now I’m learning Magic Theory which I thought would be a lot easier because it’s not actually casting spells, but it’s not at all. There’s a lot of history stuff and all the different spells people have tried to do the same thing and then they talk a lot about which method is the best. It’s enough to make my head hurt sometimes. I’m scared that everyone else gets it except me, I haven’t done any tests yet so I don’t know how I am doing. I guess they’re going to send you my grades when I do. You might want to sit down first. But I talked to some of the other students and they said they think fire is hard too.  A lot of them are studying ice magic. Isn’t that weird? I never heard of that. But there’s one girl studying fire at least, so I plan to talk to her about it. Maybe she can help it make sense a bit more. The teachers try but they’re teachers so it’s already easy for them, there’s one who is a younger lady who just graduated not too long ago so I bet she remembers that it’s like to be a student. Magister Firewind said she went to this same school. I wonder if that’s weird to teach at the same school you went to?

I’ve gone walking around the grounds. There’s a forest with lots of trails in it, and also a beach. We’re not supposed to go down there right now but we can in the summer. As long as we go with someone else. That seems like an idea for trouble but I guess none of the students here do anything like that, I’m not sure. I know one has a fiance, she was talking about him last night. But he’s arranged, so obviously her family is rich, and he hardly ever comes to visit her. She invited him to the parties and stuff but he always has an excuse. I feel bad for her because I don’t think that guy likes her at all. If he did, he would make time to see her, even if it was just for a little while. But I guess it doesn’t seem to bother her, so maybe I shouldn’t say anything. That or he actually likes guys and that’s what he’s busy doing in Silvermoon.

The spring ball is this weekend and I’m really nervous about it. First of all I don’t have any robes that are good for a ball, so hopefully Magister Firewind remembers to take us in time. I’m probably going to look like a drowned rat in a ball that fancy! Also the girl said that everyone dances. That’s just great, because I have no idea how to dance! I figured I would just stay near the food table and eat, because I guess some people do that. But then she asked this boy if he would dance with me! Thanks a lot! Now everyone’s going to know for sure that I don’t know how to dance and they’ll laugh at me and figure out I’m just some kid from the Row. She said they won’t but I know better! Sometimes I wonder if they already know and they’re just coming up with ways to make me look bad so it looks like an accident. They wouldn’t do that, would they? I don’t think any of them are that mean, but I guess you can never tell with people. Some are really good at seeming nice.

You should come too, at least then if everyone’s laughing I’ll have someone to talk to. Plus they said the food will be really good, even better than usual (which is really good). They make fancy little foods you can carry around and also extra fancy cake. The girl said it’ll probably be outside in the garden because of how warm it is, and all the flowers are blooming now. When you walk out there you can smell them all, it’s really nice.

Love,
Irael

One Response to [Story] Fairsong Academy – Irael’s Letter

  1. Aww, if Aeramin knows she invited her mom, he’d make sure she had a nice dress for it too.

Leave a Reply

