[Story] Ordinicus’s Journal

I pray that Kes never finds this. I don’t want her to know I’m even thinking about things like this. But I don’t know what else to do. If it stops Arancon from taking Lyorri away, it would be worth it. I guess that’s how they get what they want from people, they want something so badly they’d do anything to make it happen. I’d ask them myself if I knew how, but I don’t. Besides, Kestrae would know for certain if I started messing with things in that room. I’m sure Aeramin would do it. Maybe I can talk to him alone sometime, like when we’re working at the school. But by then it might be too late, they might give Lyorri to Arancon. Would they do that? It seems unfair, but I guess they might because he’s a blood relative. Even if Aeramin chose us instead.

It’s all so ridiculous, Arancon wants us to keep her last name as Firewind. I don’t understand why. But then I guess I don’t see why it’s so important to me that she doesn’t. I guess so she’ll feel like she’s really part of our family, if she has a different name she’ll know for sure that she isn’t. It’s going to be hard enough to explain her hair. And she’s not a Firewind, not anymore. Aeramin gave her to us. But Arancon is refusing to budge on it, and he gave us these papers with a long list of demands. Most of them were fine, things like we had to tell him if we move away, and provide him a portal to come and visit Lyorri if we do. That he’s allowed to see her a certain number of times per month. All of that is fine, we would have done it already, we weren’t going to take her away from him. But now… he’s trying to push us into doing things his way and threatening us if we don’t. I don’t like it, and it surely doesn’t make me think well of him. Kes is so worried she can hardly sleep, and I admit I can’t either. It’s not fair to either her or Lyorri to take her away now.

No one can talk any sense into Arancon either. Aeramin tried, he said, and I assume some of the rangers as well. He’s still being stubborn. I don’t see why it makes such a difference to him, she’ll still be his grand-daughter.

He could have an accident. There are lots of ways an old man could get injured out in the woods. People might suspect us, but if it looked like an accident it could never be proven. I feel horrible for even thinking those things, but I don’t know what else to do. I can’t think of any solution that would make everyone happy. Kes said maybe we could use both, like with a dash. Maybe that would work. I’d accidentally leave off Firewind all the time, though.

It’s warm enough that we’ll be starting work at the school this week. We’re fixing up more of the houses, Keyalenn’s for one. One of the guys said something about making a camping area, not sure what that’s all about. We’ll also be building a stable at the rangers’ estate, she asked that it be a surprise but it’s a bit difficult to keep a building a surprise. I guess he’ll be surprised when we show up to start work.

Leave a Reply

