[Story] Ordinicus’s Journal

Things haven’t really got better with the Aeramin situation. Now his father is threatening to try to take her away from us if Aeramin signs her over, because he’s her blood family and we’re not, even though we’ve been taking care of her for the last year and Aeramin chose us. I don’t know enough about Silvermoon politics to know whether they’d side with him or not, but I don’t really want to find out. I can’t even imagine what would happen to Kes if he did, I don’t think she does either. I think she’s kind of pretending it won’t happen because it’s too awful to consider otherwise. I don’t want her to go through that, or Lyorri either. She likes it here. I’m not saying she would be worse off with Arancon or anything like that; he sees her a lot and he has some experience raising kids, and the other rangers are there and some have kids. It just wouldn’t be fair to anyone to change things now. He’s worried we’ll keep him from visiting, or move away and not tell him. I promised that we wouldn’t. We can put in writing, if that would help. I can’t imagine us moving away from here anyway, unless something happens like in Dalaran, but in that case probably everyone would move. I’m tired of worrying about it. I hope it’s settled soon.

We’re just about ready to begin work, the weather has been warmer than expected — still wet, but that’s better than snow. I was going over the plans with Ethirdir. I didn’t realize everything he’s been through, I guess because we really never talk about personal things. I was talking about the situation with Lyorri and he said he has a son, but he lives with his mother and his own family helped her keep him away. That’s awful. How could they do that to their own son, and grandson? He said it had something to do with their business. Anyone who would put their business before their family sounds rotten, and he’s probably better off without them. Of course I’m sure that doesn’t help him feel better about never seeing his son. I said maybe he can see him when he’s older, but no doubt they’re telling him awful things. Children are very impressionable. It’s really unfair, I wish there was something I could do. At least they have good work here, and they’re treated well. He said Ithorel and the others weren’t treated well or paid enough. Hethurin may be eccentric, but he doesn’t mistreat us and he definitely pays well.

Ethirdir said he might want to live in one of the houses on the estate. I’m sure Hethurin wouldn’t mind having more fixed up; it increases the value and it allows the people he likes to live close by. I wouldn’t be surprised if he owns half the town in a few years. Besides that, the ranger captain has said he might want more cabins, those go quickly. I still don’t know if we’re working on Aeramin’s house or not. Ethirdir thinks they need more bathrooms in the school. I’ve never heard the students complain about it, but I guess it might be needed if they get a lot of new students.

I want to ask Kes about having the wedding soon. I know she has enough to worry about already though, so I haven’t. I just think it’s a good idea, especially if Lyorri is getting bigger. Maybe she could carry flowers or something, though she’d probably just eat them. I guess if they are baby-edible flowers.

Leave a Reply

