[Story] The Ghostclaw – Vellira’s Thoughts

I’d like to say things are pretty quiet here, and for the most part it’s true. At least when it comes to our patrols. The captain says we’ll have to do the annual spider hunt soon, he makes it sound like it’s some kind of tradition or something. I was kind of excited about it until Ty told me what actually happens. I don’t like caves, and I don’t like being covered in spider guts. Still, it’s part of our job so I’ll do it without complaining. At least it’s something new. And spider guts aren’t as bad as fish guts, and the smell doesn’t stay in your clothes for weeks, or so Ty tells me. The days are getting a little bit warmer so the builders might be starting soon. They aren’t building any new cabins here (yet) but Pero is excited because they’re going to be fixing up his house. I’m not sure how he’s going to get here for his patrols, but since his girlfriend is a mage I suppose she’ll just make him a portal every day. It’ll be weird not seeing him in the common room though.

There’s a new death knight guy who has been practicing, except he doesn’t want to use a bow and I can tell it’s making Grumpyfoot even grumpier. I don’t really get why he insists that everyone learn it — well I guess I do, it’s always better to have more weapons available. The death knight could just learn it and then never use it on patrol, that’s what a lot of us do anyway. I don’t think any of us have ever had to use our weapons on patrol at all, in fact. But if I ever do, I have my daggers and I can shoot a bow if I have to. Maybe I’m not the best at it, but I could probably at least hit the thing I am shooting at. The other big thing is that Arancon is mad about his son again. That’s not really news either, since he talks about him a lot. I guess he’s going to give Arancon’s grandbaby away to some other people, except I thought he already did that because she lives with them. Arancon goes to see her all the time already, so I don’t really see what would change about it. He says he doesn’t want her being raised by strangers, except they’ve had her for a year so they aren’t really strangers. Plus I really doubt they’re just going to give her back after that long. Arancon says he wants to go to Silvermoon and try to get her, so she could live at the ranger buildings. It’s not that impossible, I mean the captain has Rylad and a brand new baby, so there’s places that she could play and sleep and stuff. But who would take care of her while he’s on patrol? I understand why he’d want to keep her but I feel like her staying where she is might be better. But what do I know, I’ve never had any kids. And I don’t want to hurt his feelings either, because he seems like a nice guy. He feels really guilty about not being a good father to his son, but I don’t think he did a bad job. At least he was there for him. A lot of fathers just run off and disappear, a lot of mothers too. Having a father is really important, that much I do know. I guess we’ll see what happens. Arancon is going to go with the captain into the city next time he gets supplies, and talk to the Spire or the people watching the baby or something. I don’t know.

I keep thinking about the trip I want to take with Ty. I don’t know where we’d get a boat though. I mean I know they have little ones you can take for the day on the island, but that’s not the same. I want one with sails, it would have to be a small one because it’d just be me doing them, but there are small boats with sails. I wonder if I could build one. Maybe if I looked at pictures, I mean I’ve helped repair them before which is kind of the same, right? I wonder if Gael knows anything about boats, he did live on the island. I should ask him.

Leave a Reply

