[Story] Imralion’s Journal

Aeramin was at the ball. Of course he was. I swear, he has this sense about when I’m about to try to talk to Kavia. Most of the night he spent with his father, which I thought was a little unusual. Normally he tries to avoid him completely. They were probably talking about Lyorri. I kept accidentally bumping into them, like when I went to get wine or when we were going to go out to the garden. Like I said, “accidentally”. If I didn’t know better I’d think Aeramin had one of his imps spying for him, though I know Hethurin would never allow that in the school. I managed to mess up that too. I just suggested that Lyorri might like the play room better than the ballroom, because there are a lot of toys and usually other babies there. Aeramin took that to mean that he should go hide her away because I don’t want to see her. That’s not what I meant at all. I was trying to think of what she would like. He always thinks I’m not trying, but I am. He’ll probably sleep in the basement anyway, no matter what I say. And then he calls Hethurin stubborn…

I think things went okay with Kavia, though. For once. We had some food, I showed her the fish rolls and the other things, and the cake. I really liked that cake. I bet Terellion could do really well making cakes for parties and stuff, not that I think Hethurin would allow him to go work in the city. But maybe he could deliver them with portals or something. Anyway, Kavia and I had wine, as I mentioned, I was surprised that Aeramin was drinking it right in front of Arancon. I guess he must be pretty confident about not drinking if he can go to parties now. Later on we went out to the garden, it was really pretty with the branches and ribbons hung up, cold but it wasn’t snowing. I let her use my cloak and I was going to be subtle and put my arm around her but then she asked me to, so it wasn’t very subtle. But it was nice. I said that I wanted to spend more time together and she said it was difficult because of her patrols, and because of Aeramin. I know it is. I wish I knew an easy solution. I keep thinking that he’s going to get annoyed with me one day and ask me to leave. I really don’t want that, but at the same time I really want to spend time with her too. I wish everyone could just get along. She did agree to go to an inn though, I will have to make the arrangements. I said Eversong, because it’s close and there are a lot of inns there, but I’m thinking maybe the island would be better. It’ll be quiet this time of year and we could get a really fancy room, and walk on the beach. I haven’t told Aeramin about it yet. He was asleep when I got home, in the basement just as I expected. Some of his imps were around him and one was messing with his hair. I sure wouldn’t let any demons mess with my hair, but I guess he trusts them. I was a little annoyed because I had to walk home alone in the dark; he’d gone ahead without me. Arancon said he hadn’t felt well, but I’m not sure if that’s true. That guy doesn’t like me anyway.

Leave a Reply

