[Story] Fairsong Academy – Loralinde’s Diary

 

I still feel like I’m dreaming. It’s one of those really good dreams that goes on for a very long time and you can remember everything, but still a dream. I feel like I’ll wake up tomorrow and it will just be a regular day and Keyalenn didn’t give me the most beautiful ring ever. He must have been planning it for a while. I mean, if it’s not a dream. This was my first winter at the school so I didn’t know what to expect, the other parties have been lovely but this one was extra fancy. I think there’s just something about all of the lights and snowflakes that makes it more special. And mistletoe. Terellion put that everywhere, wasn’t that thoughtful of him? Keyalenn’s parents were there though, as well as everyone else, so I couldn’t kiss him too much, but enough. I saw them at the party but we didn’t talk really. I hope they like me and don’t think we’re too poor to marry him or something. We aren’t poor really, but I have so many sisters and that many weddings adds up. Luckily the actual wedding won’t be for a few years yet, so we have time to save up. And plan! I want it to be perfect just like him. His ears are so nice. I can’t wait to touch them whenever I feel like it. He said that in the spring he’ll get his own house, because he’ll be helping Magister Raleth with the frost classes, and I can live there too. I am not sure if Magister Fairsong would allow it, but I guess he has to if we’re engaged. I guess that’s probably part of the reason he asked. I don’t mind though. I know Des has done some of those things, and I’ve read about it in books, but I bet it’s even nicer to try yourself.

I hope it snows, we were talking about that before he asked. It never snows in the city, but Keyalenn said it does out here sometimes, because it’s colder and wetter. I’ve only seen it in paintings, but it looks so beautiful and peaceful. He said we could go for a walk in the woods, which sounds so nice. He also said the snow crunches when you walk on it, I didn’t expect that. It looks like soft puffy clouds. I believe him though, he’s a frost mage after all so I’m sure he knows all about snow and ice things. Then we could sit in front of the fire and watch it snow and drink hot drinks and I could look at his ears. It sounds so perfect. I didn’t know what to say at first, I was too surprised. At first I thought he meant right now, which would be nice but I want to finish my classes, especially after my parents went to all the trouble to get me transferred here. I know we’re kind of young too, but a lot of people get married when they are young, even Mae is married and she just graduated last year. It is a little strange that he asked someone else before me. He said it was a mistake but then why would he ask? I’m not jealous exactly, besides she’s got someone else and I’m not worried that she’s going to change her mind. Though really she should, I’d much rather have an archmage than a smelly old ranger. Well I shouldn’t say that because Pero is very nice. But anyway. I was just more curious what she was like, if she was more pretty than me or whatever. If she hadn’t said no they might be engaged right now and I would have never met him at that party or come to this school. That makes me sad to think about.

After he went to tell his parents and I showed the ring to everyone. They all thought it was really nice. Then Des told me Pero had just asked too! I bet they planned that. Hers will probably be before mine, because she’s closer to graduating. I think it will be really fun to have someone to plan with. That way everyone else won’t get sick of us talking about it all the time. I think Xarola might have been already. I told her I’m sure that Vyn will ask her soon, they’ve been together for a long time.

I have to write to my parents if his family hasn’t already. They will want to meet him of course but they’re going to be impressed, I’m not worried about that. I feel like the luckiest girl ever!

Leave a Reply

