[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

Something really bad is going on, but I’m not sure what. Yesterday at supper time I couldn’t find Hethurin, which normally wouldn’t be that strange. Sometimes he’s busy working and forgets that it’s time to eat, so I go and get him. But Narise was all alone in her crib and crying, which he would never let happen. She was also wet, so she had to have been there for a while. Normally she’s in class with him. I got her changed and put her into the sling so she would be safe and I started looking for Hethurin. I looked in his work room first, and he definitely wasn’t in there. But there was a dragonhawk, fluttering all around and knocking things over. I didn’t know if it was supposed to be in there or not so I just closed the door and kept looking.

None of the students had seen him. Des said she didn’t know anything about him going anywhere. I thought he might have taken one of his special portals, but why wouldn’t he have told anyone? Maybe it was supposed to be a surprise? That’s the only thing I can think of. But usually he at least tells Des or Renner about it. At first we couldn’t find him either, and I thought maybe they’d gone somewhere together. I don’t want to think about that, but then at least I would know where Hethurin was. Des took him some sand, from the hourglass, and he’s supposed to use it to find him. I don’t know how, some kind of weird magic stuff I guess. But that was last night and I still haven’t heard anything. Des said that if it was one of those time portals, they would come back just a few minutes later, but I waited and waited and waited and they didn’t come back. So something must be wrong, but I don’t know what. It’s supposed to be my job to protect him, that’s my job, a guard. I am not doing a good job of it if I can’t even find him.

The students hadn’t seen him either, they were all in the classroom waiting because it hadn’t started yet. Tik said that the last time he saw Hethurin was around lunch time. Lilithel didn’t see him either, and all of the hawkstriders were still in the stable. So he must have teleported, which I figured because if you’re a mage why would you ride when you can just teleport. I don’t know what I’m going to tell the students, I don’t want to scare them and make them worry too much. More than that, I don’t want to scare myself. If I can think of a good explanation, it helps me calm down a little, but I haven’t been able to think of one yet. I just said he was on an errand. Luckily there are no classes for the next two days, but what happens if he’s still gone after that? Will the school have to close? I guess Magister Firewind and Raleth could teach his class, maybe. I feel like the dragonhawk must be a clue, because it didn’t fly in from outside so it must have come through a portal. But then why wouldn’t Hethurin go too? It’s a fancy dragonhawk, pink and purple, so it isn’t a wild one. Tik is going to ask Theronil if he knows which breeder it came from, which is a good idea. I’m glad Tik is helping me look.

I didn’t know what to tell Malwen either. I could tell she was worried, but maybe she believed me when I said he was coming back soon. I want to believe it myself. She couldn’t sleep, which is okay because I couldn’t either. We played dolls and she eventually fell asleep. I stayed up there with her, I must have slept a little bit but it doesn’t feel like I did. I went to take care of Narise and make breakfast but Hethurin still isn’t back yet. Where would he go? He wouldn’t just leave, would he?

One Response to [Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

Leave a Reply

