[Story] Fairsong Academy – Vynlorin’s Journal

The party was nice, we wore masks with different herbs on them again. It’s the same as last year but it was different herbs so it still counts as a different costume. Plus I think I’m getting better at making masks this time around. Mostly we used paper but Xarola also picked some real ones to put on which made them smell nice as well. It’s going to frost soon, so there won’t be a lot of herbs that can be gathered then, though there are certain kinds of barks and berries you can find, and sometimes mushrooms before it gets too cold. Most of those things don’t work very well for perfume, but they still sell well. I keep telling Xarola she should write it all down to keep track but she says she doesn’t need to. Maybe I will. It would help me remember things.

My brain is full with all of our school work. Fire continues to go well, I’m able to change its shape and move it around, but arcane and frost are still not going very well. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to teleport. Sometimes it feels like everyone’s so far ahead of me and I’m never going to catch up. Like Keyalenn is talking about taking his exam soon, and then he’s going to stay and be Magister Raleth’s assistant. I’m happy for him but he won’t be able to come and talk with us if he’s a teacher assistant. Also he’d probably move into his own house, he says he can teleport but he’ll probably be too busy with papers and things like that. He said he won’t be able to see Loralinde anymore either if he’s a teacher, because of what people would say. I don’t think I could do that. I asked him what he’s going to do and he said he’s going to talk to her parents about getting married. Personally I don’t see how that would change anything, I think people still might talk, but maybe not. I guess the other option is that he just waits until she finishes, but that could be a few years. I think we’re all way too young, but I didn’t say that. He said he still has the ring from the last girl he asked but he doesn’t want to use that one, which makes sense. He ought to pick out one that this girl likes anyway. I bet Xarola would like one that had flowers carved in it, but I think it’s still too early for me too. I’ve thought about it though, once we both have finished. I don’t know if she plans to stay here after, I’ve always liked our idea about opening our own shop. It’s funny because I wanted to go to mage school instead of run the shop, but I ended up thinking about making perfumes anyway. Maybe she’d want to take over our parents’ one with me, but I’d have to talk to my sisters about that too. We still have a lot of time to figure it out. I haven’t even got to look at her chest yet! I don’t think Keyalenn actually knows how to get girls to let you.

Leave a Reply

