[Story] Fairsong Academy – Loralinde’s Diary

Regular classes start up this week. Summer classes are usually a bit easier, and a lot of times people take holidays so it doesn’t feel like it’s “really” school. But now it will be! I’m excited to start, I know I’ve been here for a while but the fall seems like the actual start of the year. It’s so great to have small classes because you can really ask the professors for help if you need it. I’m sure I probably will! I’m starting out with manipulating existing flames, that’s the first step of any fire magic. In Arcane class I am supposed to be changing the properties of an object, which is usually its color, but it’s not perfect yet. It’s a little embarrassing being so far behind most of the other students, but we’ve all been studying for different amounts of time so I know I really shouldn’t compare. But it’s difficult! It does mean that I can ask them questions about things too though, so that’s another place I can get help. I am sure when I get to ice magic that I’ll want to ask Keyalenn for help, but I’m a little afraid. I mean, for one thing I think it’ll be impossible to concentrate on doing spells when his ears and hair are there. I’m also worried that I won’t understand or I’ll do really badly and he’ll think I’m stupid or just really awful at ice magic. I don’t want that! I’m already worried enough about the fact that he doesn’t want to talk to his parents.

Oh, speaking of that, Zalindri told us that her parents arranged someone. She seems unhappy about it, but it won’t even be until she’s finished with school. That’s a lot of time to get to know him, and she said that he isn’t bad looking and he has nice ears. I think that’s not so bad! The only thing is that she said she’ll have to go to parties in the city instead of here. I think she should just invite him to ours, if it’s anywhere near as good as the wedding, it’s going to be amazing. Plus we could all meet him. I mean I guess it’s nice to already have your future planned out and not have to worry about it. She and Des say that I should have my parents talk to his, but I think it’s better if it’s the other way around. Especially if he’s not even looking right now!

I am pretty sure I found out who “M” is. At one point the estate was owned by a Dayseeker family, and there was a brother named Melath. I was hoping that he had a tragic story or something, I guess it kind of is, but it’s not that interesting. He fell into a frozen lake and got sick afterward and never recovered. I wonder if he always feels cold as a ghost? That wouldn’t be nice at all. Maybe I could bring him a scarf. Anyway, I’ve not heard anything else from him yet, though I’ve been burning my special candles. They are supposed to be pleasing to ghosts because they are beeswax and pure white. I’m not sure why ghosts would care what color a candle is, but that’s what the book said. I hope I can get Melath to talk, and some of the others too. I know there are others, for sure there’s a small girl and probably the other members of the family too? I’ll keep trying. I did write down all my ideas so far.

Leave a Reply

