[Story] Thorns – The Search Continues

How difficult can it be to find one book? Pretty difficult, I guess. The school is large and there are books in just about every room. I’m fairly sure there are some we haven’t even seen, such as the ones in the tower. Neither of us are allowed into the students’ rooms, though I think it’s fairly unlikely to be in one of those. Nash is going to ask the girls for a hair ribbon or something to try to get a glimpse of their bookshelves, but I don’t think that’s enough. Personally I think he ought to find a way to stay in there longer, even though it’s against the rules. I will need to go in to install the new clocks, but Tik will be with me, and he’d notice if I go poking around in the students’ things. It’s not in any of the practice rooms, Nash has already checked those, though it might be in the headmaster’s office. If it’s a book that some mage is willing to pay money to get, it’s probably pretty advanced. It’s just frustrating, I am starting to believe it’s not even here anymore and we’re just wasting our time. I worry that mage has already hired somebody else to get it.

Although it’s not so bad, really. I am getting paid to do what I like — and paid well. In hindsight, I probably could have charged a lot more and the headmaster would have paid it without blinking. I am still wary though, I’m always afraid one of them is going to do something, and I don’t want to push it. I have all of the small clocks for the students’ rooms almost finished, then the headmaster asked for some pocket watches. No big deal, I make those all the time. The larger clocks are going to take more materials and more time, especially the one for the tower. I’ve never made one that large before, and while I think it’s just a matter of making everything larger, I’m not sure. There are probably going to be some problems that crop up along the way. I also want to make him a little clockwork dragon, he seems to like them a lot — there’s a giant statue of one outside — sort of as a gift I guess. And because I haven’t made one in a long time. If I weren’t surrounded by blood elves, I could actually see myself staying here. Nash is a lot less happy though. Since he’s pretending to be a student, that means he has to do all of the students’ work, including the tests. He’s frustrated I think and worried about the upcoming exam. I guess he has to re-take them because he didn’t do so well the last time. I can’t blame him, I wouldn’t want to have to take a bunch of tests either. He didn’t like my suggestion about hiding out in the woods to avoid them. Hey, I did it, and I’m fine. It wasn’t very nice though, and eventually the weather will start to get colder, though it’s not as bad as Stormwind here. I’ve tried to help him study it before, but I don’t know any of that stuff either, so I can’t explain it to him, and we always end up distracted anyway.

That’s another thing. I don’t know what’s going to happen when we do go back. I tried bringing it up, asked him what he’d do when we got back. He said he was worried about his old room being rented already, the one at the house with the old woman. I told him it’d be safer if he stayed at the shop. Not sure what Rose is going to think of that, we don’t exactly have much room and I haven’t discussed it with her. I guess I could look for my own place again, but staying at the shop is convenient. I can stay up late working and everything I need is right there. I’m lying to myself if I say that’s the only reason, though. Is there even anything left between us? It’s been so long, and she’s been with Josie for all of it. I remember back when it was just the two of us, when she lived in the place above the shoemaker’s. It was nice, and I wish it could be like that again, the thought of what could be, even though it isn’t like that at all. I’m worried though because I told Nash going in about her, and he seemed okay with it, but now he’s acting a little weird. Like he said he’d go stay somewhere else if she was there. First of all, that’s one big “if”. It’s dangerous for him to stay out, more than it is for any of the rest of us. I know he’s good at staying out of sight, but mistakes can happen. Obviously I don’t want anything to happen to him, I care about him and we have a good time together, but — it’s just not the same. And I can’t tell him that, though maybe he knows. I guess if things are really bad when we get back, I can look into finding my own place. It would feel like giving up though, and that’s the last thing I want to do. I guess there’s a point when you have to look at your cards and accept facts, though.

Leave a Reply

