[Story] Imralion’s Journal

The guy from the Row came by again last night. He said he wasn’t able to talk to the landlord, but he did find some receipts in the room. The interesting thing is they’re from stores that aren’t on the Row, which means he may live somewhere else, or at least he has enough to buy things from those stores. One of them was for knives. That’s unsettling. I asked his name this time. I’m not sure why it matters so much to Aeramin, and I’m pretty sure most of them use fake names anyway. He said his name was Kuul. Probably fake, but at least I know what it is now. The girl’s name is Shaise, though she uses a lot of fake names too. He said there’s a man who takes all of the money she earns and she’s not allowed to talk to people much. I feel bad for her, I wish there was something I could do. I don’t know how she let herself get into that situation in the first place, I mean if someone wanted to beat me up I’m sure I wouldn’t work for them. It’s probably not that simple, otherwise she wouldn’t be there. They still don’t trust me either, I mean, I think they do a little but it still seems like they’re holding back. For example Kuul said he had to support other people, but then he quickly said he mis-spoke and wouldn’t say anything else about it. Why would he want to hide that? I don’t know. They probably see me as one of the rich magisters or something, except that couldn’t be further from the truth. Sure I didn’t grow up on the Row, but it’s not like the Matron’s house was so much better compared to the magisters’ houses. Maybe I could have had it better growing up, if things had been different.

Our mother is still here in the city. I don’t know what to say to her. Aeramin says he’d rather that his father was gone instead of growing up with him and getting beaten, but I’m not sure if that’s true. At least if he’s beating you, he cares enough to beat you, right? Our father didn’t even care enough to do that. Lin is spending time with her, hopefully that’s enough. I guess Lin’s life is going more how a parent would expect, anyway.

Kuul mentioned that the house had blood all over and hadn’t been cleaned. I promised I’d go by early in the morning to look at it. I’m not a guard, I don’t know exactly what I’m looking for, but I hope to find something useful. I thought about asking Tik, but I’m not sure how he would have taken it, so I just brought some rags and buckets from our house. Kuul might have downplayed it a little. Things were much worse than I imagined. I had to go outside and get some air before I got too sick, luckily the Row is really quiet at that time of morning. I made some quick sketches of where the blood was in the room and I washed what I could. There’s still a lot to go, but it looked a bit better, and I had to get to the office anyway. I can try to go back tomorrow, maybe, but I’ll need a lot more rags. As Kuul said, the placement of the blood suggests that the victim wasn’t tied up after all. Unless it’s a different victim. Or a different killer. I hope there’s not more than one. Tonight I’ll visit the shops on the receipts and talk to the owners, I hope they can give me something.

Leave a Reply

