[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

It’s been an eventful few days. First was Hethurin’s wedding, of course, which was more like a circus than a wedding. I don’t mean that in a bad way at all, it was just so much to take in. I think poor Sunashe was a little rattled by it all, he kept fretting that we wouldn’t be able to have white hawkstriders or hire people to hold swords while wearing matching uniforms. I told him I don’t need anything so fancy, but I am not sure if he believed me. A little party with the rangers is fine with me. I do want to get a dress though, not one of those really expensive fancy ones, but one that looks nice. There were so many babies there! We sat with Kestrae at the table, and she had Lyorri with her. She is really cute, though she kept throwing her food on the floor, she thought it was a game. Probably because Blinky kept scrambling over to eat everything she threw. He seemed hesitant at first, but once I got him to eat one of the salmon rolls, he devoured them. I hope Tik didn’t see us feeding them to a lizard. I ate some too!

Kes told us that she and Ordinicus will be getting married soon too, I guess it’s good that we talked to her before we planned too much. We’ll have to make sure they aren’t too close together and we don’t use the same colors or whatever. She was telling us about the boar they have, which sounds a little odd to me, but I guess we have a huge lizard living with us. She said Lyorri can ride the boar when she’s older, I hope that didn’t give Sunashe any ideas. I was hoping she’d say it was a crazy idea. I guess because of all the babies there I was talking about it a little, I mean, I wouldn’t want to have one for a few years yet. But somehow Sunashe got the idea that I was having one now, I had to explain that I’d have to go to Lani to find out but I think he was confused. I guess he’s never heard about women going to check for that. He kept asking so many times that now I’m wondering if I should. I mean, I don’t think I am, I’ve been drinking my tea every day but it’s not always effective. He’s so funny though, he kept asking if I would need to study for the test. It’s not that kind of test!

The day after that started normally. I was helping Julan with his accuracy. He still has a lot to learn, but he’s definitely made improvements since he started. At the party, I tried using one of Julan’s lines on Sunashe, but I don’t think he understood until later. I wonder if Julan might do better with a crossbow, I know Sunashe would have a fit, but it might be easier to start out. I’ll ask him about it. Orledin came around the back and told me there was a woman here to see me. I couldn’t figure who in the world it might be, but when I saw her I knew. I couldn’t believe our mother was actually really here. I might have cried a little. I had my patrol to do soon, but I showed her around the building and our little cabin. I invited her to come back in the evening for dinner, and to meet Sunashe. I explained that he was a veteran, and a very good ranger as well. I didn’t mention the leg. Or the lizard.

I’m still stunned, it’s hard to believe it’s really true and she’s really here. I have a lot of questions but I’m sure she will talk about everything that happened when she’s ready. For now I just hope that she and Sunashe get along, but I’m not too worried about that. It also occurred to me that it’ll be a lot easier to make that claim if she comes along with me. Maybe I can buy Sunashe a white hawkstrider after all.

Leave a Reply

