[OOC] WoW Expansion News

Next week we’ll be hearing what is in store for Warcraft. I’m mildly curious, enough that I’ll be following the news for it. None of the supposed leaks really interest me at all, with the exception of the “Army of Light” one, because if you know me, you know I’ve wanted a night elf paladin for years now. So I’m curious if one of those turns out to be true, or if it’s something out of left field that no one expected at all.

At this point I feel so detached from WoW that it would have to be amazingly, socks-blowing-off awesome to even consider buying. Even then, I’d wait a few months after the initial honeymoon period. Every single problem and issue with Warlords was brought up numerous times in the beta forums, but was ignored by Blizzard or we were told to just wait and give it a chance. Turns out we were right all along.

Stuff that would get me excited about WoW? An Eastern Kingdoms storyline featuring the Worgen, Humans, Forsaken and Blood Elves. That storyline has been stagnant for way too long and could have some really great development. I also really like the gothic, spooky feel of a lot of the architecture and landscapes there.

Alternatively, something about dragons. I don’t know what exactly, but dragons are cool and I’d like to see more of them. Wrathion could take a central role in this, and the Bronze dragons could address what happened with Kairoz and maybe we could finally learn more about the Infinite flight!

Mechanically, I want the garrison gone. Get that shit out of here. Although, as a squishy chicken, I do really appreciate Defender Ilona. I would love to see the bodyguard system enhanced and improved, take some notes from SWTOR here guys. Alternatively, let us choose to “promote” followers to bodyguards, that would be even better. Then I could run around with whoever I wanted.

Put in a level-scaling system that is O P T I O N A L. (Don’t make it automatic, like GW2, that sucks. There are some times when you want to be higher-level, like farming raids for mogs/pets, or materials.) Allow you to level-down to group with your friends, or run low-level dungeons for appropriate loot. FFXIV does a great job of this, and it keeps lower-level content from feeling “dead” once you are leveled through it.

I also really feel like at 100, we need to advance sideways rather than vertically. One hundred is a good round number, and it’s already intimidating to new players entering the game. Sure, you get one 90 boost, but after that? All your alts need to slog through 100 levels, every time. I’m not sure what the solution is here, but I’d like to see something other than just tacking on another 5 or 10 numbers to our portrait.

Leave a Reply

