[OOC/Screenshots] Final Fantasy XIV

Like a lot of people who are looking for a new game to play, I heard that Final Fantasy XIV was really good. The trial is for 14 days, and is located here: http://www.ffxiv-freetrial.com/us/  I wasn’t too amazed at first, but I think it gets better the longer you play it. The game does a really good job of easing you into things. While I’m still unsure how to do a lot of things, I don’t feel totally lost anymore. I really like the class and jobs system, as well. You can switch anytime you want to, and there are advanced versions of a lot of the classes. For example, my character is an Archer, but later on I’ll be able to make him into a Bard.

Orna'sae Tizhina - Archer (Eventually Bard!)

Orna’sae Tizhina – Archer (Eventually Bard!)

While I wish there was a little more variety among the races, the character creation designer is really nice, and the animations and especially the landscapes are very detailed and beautiful. I’m not even particularly a fan of the “anime” visual style but I don’t find it too off-putting. The armor is really nice too, in my opinion. And if you are a fan of the Final Fantasy series, you will find a lot of familiar elements such as moogles, chocobos, and even the leveling up music. There is cooking and fishing, and really nice looking player housing. I haven’t found a transmog system yet, though I’m sure it exists. You can dye your armor however. The game feels like it has a lot of depth to it, and the new expansion (with flying mounts!) is coming out later this month. It might be worth looking into if you’re looking for something new to play.

Oh, and the servers that I play on seem to be bustling 😉

One Response to [OOC/Screenshots] Final Fantasy XIV

  1. I’m going to have to share screen some night on skype while playing final fantasy 1, or I guess you can’t hear the music there, but yeah, the music. =P

Leave a Reply

