[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

We got one of the mages at the school to make a portal to Shattrath. It took us a while to find the right draenei, and I wasn’t too sure if he’d even found the right one. I mean, they all look really similar and he didn’t have Blinky out with him. But Sunashe said he was sure it was the one he gave Blinky to. I think he was a little embarrassed to ask for him back, so I said I would. I’m not too embarrassed, although my Common isn’t very good at all. Luckily the draenei must be used to hearing bad Common from blood elves, because he understood me. I asked if he had a lizard, which would have been pretty awkward if he was the wrong draenei, and for a second I thought he was but he finally said that he did. He said that it was really well trained and he liked it a lot, and my heart sank a little. At least that means he probably didn’t sell it for food though, right? I explained how he’d been sold by accident and I’d like to buy him back if possible. I brought a lot of gold, but I didn’t show it to him yet. I figured we could agree on a price first. The draenei seemed to think it over for a long time, and he looked at Sunashe and me. Finally he agreed to give him back — for free! We went to the place where he was kept and Sunashe said that it was definitely Blinky. I was worried that maybe he’d got a different lizard or something. I thanked the draenei a bunch of times, maybe he could tell how important it was that we get him back. I’m just so relieved! I thought maybe Blinky would be upset at us (mostly me) but he didn’t seem like he was. We went and caught some fresh fish for him to eat, and then Sunashe and I went to the restaurant on the Scryer’s Tier and got some dinner for ourselves. I gave Blinky some of the manaberry pie, and he kind of pushed it around with his snout but I don’t think he liked it very much. Hopefully he appreciated the thought at least.

I can’t tell if Sunashe is happy or not, he’s hard to read sometimes. I know I am. I said that maybe we could train another lizard to give to the draenei, but I’m not sure. He said that it wasn’t getting along too well with his moth. I was interested to hear more about his moth — I don’t know anyone else besides me who has one — but we were in a hurry to feed Blinky. Sunashe said he won’t mind Snowflake living with us, I hope that’s true. Vellira always says she’s creepy when she is perched on the wall, which is her favorite place. I don’t see what’s creepy, she just likes watching what’s going on. We talked about building a stable for Blinky again, apparently he’ll be too large to fit into the cabin when he’s fully grown. I didn’t realize he’d be quite that big! I mean, he’s already huge. If I ever get the money from our father’s estate, that’s the first thing I’m going to do. I asked Sunashe if he wanted anything else, like a gift or something, but he said he didn’t need anything. Well, it’s supposed to be something you want, not something you need. I suggested a new bow but he says his works fine. Then I said I should get a fancy collar for Blinky, but he said he doesn’t need that either. I’m a bit stumped. I want to get him something nice if I get all that money, but he won’t give me any ideas. I just want to do something nice for him, that’s all. I guess it doesn’t really matter if we don’t get the money anyway.

Sunashe said the cabin will be done in a week or two. That’s so soon! There’s so much we need to get still, mostly furniture. We’re going to have to go into the city to pick it out, and he said we should bring one of the mages with so we won’t have to borrow a wagon to bring it back. That’s a good idea. It’s exciting because I’ve never got to pick out my own furniture before, but also a little scary. Though it’lll be nice to not have to use the tent anymore, unless we want to. The rooms in Shattrath are nice though. I can’t believe how empty the city feels. Even the last time I was here, it seemed there were far more people. Im says a lot of them went through the new portal to the other Draenor. I guess they want to see it how it’s supposed to be.

I talked to him, too. I guess if things are going well for one of us, they aren’t for the other. Im is upset because Aeramin told him he doesn’t want to ever get any more kids. He said it would be unfair to Lyorri to get another one after they gave her away. Then he shouldn’t have given her away! Im said that he’d like to have them someday, so it’s not really an issue right now, but he doesn’t want to waste his time if it’s not going to go anywhere. I definitely know how he feels there. I didn’t have any good advice for him. I don’t know what I would do in his place either. He said Aeramin could maybe think of another solution, but he doesn’t know what it could be. I could think of some, but I’m sure neither Im nor Aeramin would like them very much.

Leave a Reply

