[Story] The Ghostclaw – Sath’alor’s Journal

Well, the good news is that the spider outing went well. The large cave that we checked last year had a few nests in it, but there were others spread around in other spots. I guess the spiders are learning. That’s a scary thought. We did get enough legs to make dinner with, and I asked Orledin to make the leftovers into little cakes with a recipe that he got from Tik. I thought everything was going fine, no one complained or argued or anything. I guess that’s how Sunashe must have felt though. I don’t know all of the details because I haven’t talked to Lin, but I guess they had some kind of fight. Ty and I talked to him to try to help him out. Besides being a ranger, I also think of all of them as my friends, and I want him to be happy. I really thought they were doing good together, they were going to build the cabin and live together and everything. From what Sunashe said, it sounded to me like she was feeling a little neglected, between his work and training his lizard. I can see where she’s coming from, there are nights when I don’t come home until pretty late. I don’t like it, but sometimes it happens. Maybe she wasn’t very diplomatic about it, because I guess he took it pretty hard. He said she’s not sure about being with him, which I agree would be really upsetting. But I told him that I’d talk to her and find out what I could do to make her sure. Then he was talking about getting rid of the lizard, I hope he doesn’t do that. He’s spent a lot of time training it and I know how much he likes it — no one else around here has one, either. It’s definitely unique. The worst part is that he’d just bought a ring, too. I told him he could just hang onto it until things were going better, but it seemed like he’d already accepted that there was nothing to be done. I really don’t understand that. If he loves her, he ought to at least try, right? I guess it all hits a bit close to home because it’s kind of what happened with Kes. I did try in that case, but maybe not enough. I remember Thero saying that if I really loved  Kes, I would have done more to fix things. It made me really angry at the time, but now I realize that he was right. There’s nothing Nessna could say or do to make me give up without even trying like that. Maybe Sunashe isn’t telling us everything, I don’t know. He asked for a transfer, but Ty and I both asked him to stay here, as friends. He’s a really good ranger and he does a great job training the recruits. Plus, I don’t want to have to explain why one of my rangers no longer wishes to be in my unit.

Yesterday morning we discovered he’d already left. He didn’t leave a letter or anything, though he did say he was looking to go to either Eversong or Shattrath. I know both of those pretty well, so if I can’t find him in Eversong, I’ll ask Hethurin for a portal to Shattrath. I spent enough time in Outland that I have some ideas of where to look for him. I’m a little hurt that he’d just run away from us like that, so I can only imagine how Lin feels. If she was feeling ignored before, he just made it a hundred times worse. The ball is tonight, and I was really looking forward to dancing with Nessna, but she said she’s going to stay with Lin if she isn’t feeling like going. She doesn’t think she’ll want to go to the ball, and thinks she should be there to talk to her so she’s not alone. I know she’s right, but I can’t help but be a little disappointed that we can’t dance. I guess Rylad and I will have a good time though, and we can bring her back some plates of food to eat. I really hope I can find Sunashe and convince him to come back, because putting in a report for a missing ranger is even worse than putting in a report for a transfer. Maybe it’s payback for when I left everyone behind.

Leave a Reply

