[Story] Berwick’s Journal

I can’t remember the last time I wrote in here. I’m not very good at keeping a journal, I guess. It’s not like I’ve had much opportunity to either, since we’ve been staying in a tent all winter. On the grounds of Hethurin’s school, which is admittedly a little weird. On nights when it was really cold, we’d stay inside, but that was even more weird. I know she doesn’t have any attachment to him or anything, but it still feels a little strange. Now that it’s starting to warm again, I’ve been thinking about what we should do. There is a lot of work here, I know the builders that have been working on the school are in demand. I haven’t built things before, but I am sure I could do it. Then I thought Xyliah might be interested in helping with the rangers, I know she’s got experience with that and they need people.

But when I tried to talk to her about it, she wouldn’t say what she actually wants. She just kept saying that whatever I want is fine, but it’s not. I want her to be happy and taken care of, I promised that I would do that and living in a tent on her ex-husband’s lawn isn’t really doing it. Xyliah did say that she wanted to go out to look for things again, but I’ve been away from it for so long that I’m not even sure I can anymore. I don’t have the maps or contacts, what if everything has already been found? I lost all of my maps when we had to leave Dalaran, I’d have to go into Silvermoon to the library there to start again. I remember some of them, but not all. And I miss having our own place to come back to, a home base of sorts. I like the trips, but I also like the feeling of coming home for a while. It’s also useful to have a place to store all of the things that you find until you can find a buyer, which can sometimes take a while. Xyliah wasn’t much help there, either, she says she doesn’t know where she wants to live. I guess here would be all right, she wants to be near Yara so she can make sure she’s okay. She’s upset with the rangers though, because the captain married Vessen’s wife too soon. Maybe it was a little fast, but I’m not in her situation so I don’t know. I do know that if I’d died, I would want Xyliah to find somebody else. That’s something I thought about a lot when I was in Dalaran. So maybe it’s the same for Vessen, I don’t really know.

The little house on the beach in Pandaria was nice. Maybe we could find something like that, except it’s not nearly as warm here in the Ghostlands. And the beach would probably be filled with murlocs. I guess a regular house would be better. I’d like it to have a barn, so we could store things, and it should be at least a little fancy. Xyliah says she doesn’t want a fancy house but I think she should at least have a nice one.

Leave a Reply

