[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

Aeramin came by the ranger building last night, I guess to talk to his father. That was pretty strange, Arancon says that usually he refuses to talk to him at all. Well, it’s not my business. I told him that Arancon was out on his patrol and would be back before too long. I was sitting in the common room, trying to think of what to get for Sunashe. Well, to be honest I was trying to write something for a card or a poem, or I don’t know what. I hadn’t actually got anything down yet. Hopefully the faire will go well and I won’t have to actually write anything, it opens in a couple of days. If there are any lizards I bet he’ll want to see them. But I guess lizards aren’t so bad, compared to what some people have to deal with, like Im. I kind of let Aeramin know what I thought about everything, because he asked, after all. I told him that Im should leave him, and he didn’t really disagree with me. He just said that he hoped he didn’t. He wanted to know what kind of gift he could get for Im that would somehow make up for what he did. Seriously? I don’t think there’s anything in the whole world that you could buy that would fix a mistake like that. If he loves Im so much, why would he do that in the first place? I actually felt kind of bad saying all those things, but it was good to get it out. I’m sure that Im has already said them, too. I just don’t like seeing him unhappy, he’s not supposed to be the one crying over guys. Arancon says this kind of thing has happened a lot, and I’m inclined to believe him. I mean, this is the third time something like this has happened just with Im, and this one is really bad. Aeramin swears nothing happened the other times, but who knows.

Anyway, I still don’t know what to get for Sunashe. It was strange, the captain came up and suggested that I get him a crossbow with a lizard on it. I’m not sure if he was trying to play a joke or not, because I’ve already had to listen to Sunashe rant about how crossbows are dumb and for weak little girls. I’m not really sure he’d find that a very good present, even if it did have a lizard on it. Aeramin said I should get him something useful, like for camping. I didn’t tell him what I actually meant by “camping”, and I can’t think of anything he would need for that. He also suggested a walking stick carved with a lizard, which might be nice but I feel like he’d take that as some kind of comment about his leg. I don’t know. It annoys me when people like Im and  Aeramin call him “that guy with one leg” like that’s the only thing about him. Except in Im’s case I think he’s just doing it to annoy me. What else do they make with lizards on them? Aeramin suggested that I get Arancon to ask what Sunashe wants, but I think that’d be really obvious. I mean, why else would Arancon want to know about goblin day presents? But I guess at this point I’ll take whatever help I can get. If that fails, hopefully I’ll get an idea at the faire.

Leave a Reply

