[Story] The Ghostclaw – Vellira’s Thoughts

Ty liked his gift. I wasn’t really too worried that he wouldn’t. I found a really fancy hotel on the island, one of the ones that overlooks the harbor. It has gold on the outside, well I don’t think it’s actual gold but it looks like it. It felt a little strange going in there, like we weren’t supposed to be there and I’m sure they probably gave us odd looks. Our room was so big! There was a giant bed and also a big couch that you can stretch out on, and some big puffy chairs with tassels on them. There’s a balcony that overlooks the water, too, and it faces the sunset so you can watch it in the evenings. No wonder this place was so expensive! They really thought of everything. On the bed they had a little paper and there was food you could order, and they bring it right up to your door. I think I’d also like to go to some of the restaurants while we are here, but this was good too. We got fried chicken. I don’t know where they even keep chickens on the island, but they had some!

We talked about Arancon and how he’s a grandfather now. It’s kind of weird to think of him as someone’s grandfather, he just seems like a regular person. Everyone calls him “Gramps” for a nickname now which I think is pretty funny, but he likes it so I guess it’ll stick. I haven’t seen the baby yet but hopefully he’ll be able to bring her so we can see her. I haven’t really seen one up close before so I have no idea how to hold it or anything, but I could look. When we get back we thought about having a party for Arancon to celebrate. Orledin could make a cake and write “Congrats Gramps” on it. Ty got to talking about the cabin and he asked what I wanted. Like for furniture I guess. I just said that I wanted a bed with about a thousand pillows like the one in our hotel room. He said he’d buy them. I don’t know how we are going to fit a thousand pillows into one cabin, but I guess we’ll find out! Maybe it’ll be slightly less than a thousand. Then he was talking about how he loves me. No one’s ever said that to me before, I mean, outside of people who have to say it because they are related to you. I’m not really sure how I feel about it, not bad I guess. I didn’t really expect it to be anything like that, but it’s not bad either. Now I sound like Lin when she’s worrying about Sunashe! We talked about them too. Ty doesn’t believe me that he’s happier now because he and Lin are together. Trust me, it is. Ty thinks it’s because he has someone to talk to. Talking is nice and all, but it’s not the same. If it turns out that I stay here for a long time, I guess that’s fine too. It’s interesting to go on patrol, and I like everyone here. It’s a lot different from the ship, but I think I’ve got used to it. And Ty is sweet and he makes me laugh, even if he is awfully innocent sometimes. He liked the dress I bought too, of course I wasn’t worried about that either.

Leave a Reply

