[Story] The Basket

Someone left a baby on our doorstep. Actually it wasn’t “someone”, I have a pretty good idea who it was. At first I thought it was a basket of food or something, maybe from Aeramin’s father. He left the sword recently, after all, and I thought maybe he was trying to be nice. Who else would knock on the door and then leave before I answered? So I took it inside, I noticed it was pretty heavy but I didn’t think much of it. Aeramin said it was probably more fish, like we need that. We were going to put it into the cold storage room, but thankfully I opened it to look inside. I worry about what might have happened if I hadn’t.

There was a baby inside. A really small one. There were some papers too, the registry ones. They listed the mother’s name as Cyannah, the girl from the library in Shattrath. Aeramin was written down as the father. He swears it’s not true, that it’s all a big mistake. I really want to believe that, he says she probably just picked him out of all the other guys it could be. But how many other guys were in Shattrath then who happened to meet up with her in the library, who also happen to have orange hair? She doesn’t have very much of it, but she definitely has orange hair. Oh yeah, it’s a girl. We didn’t think to check.

Aeramin refuses to even believe it’s possible that it’s actually his baby. He was talking about trying to return it to Shattrath tomorrow, but the address that is on the paper is definitely fake. I don’t think he’ll be able to find her if she doesn’t want to be found. I mean why else would she have left it on our doorstep? I don’t want it either. I thought about it happening one day, maybe, but this is different. Plus, its mother is the girl that Aeramin cheated on me with. I don’t know how I could avoid thinking about that all the time, it would be like a constant reminder. It kept crying and I said we should feed it, but we didn’t have any milk. We went to Kestrae’s house, thankfully she had some. I think she wants to keep it, she was talking about buying clothes and stuff for it tomorrow. Aeramin got some from Tik up at the school, but not enough. Also those ones are too big, I guess because this baby is so new.

The simplest thing would be to take her to the orphanage, but then I feel guilty. Her father — if it really is Aeramin — is alive, and she should know about him. It’s not fair to make her think she doesn’t have one if she actually does. Then I got to wondering if my parents gave us away because they didn’t want us. It’s a terrible feeling. I don’t want her to have that when she is older, even if I don’t know her. There’s a chance it could actually be Arancon’s, I guess. I mean it’s possible, but I don’t think it’s very likely. He keeps finding reasons why it couldn’t be his, even if they don’t make any sense. I keep hoping that he’s right and it’s all just been one giant mix-up and we won’t have to worry about it any more. But I really don’t think that is going to happen. What are we going to do? I don’t want to take care of a baby, especially that baby. I don’t know if Ordinicus is going to want to either. He doesn’t even really get an opinion in the matter, Kestrae just decided to keep it overnight, he wasn’t even home yet. Hopefully he doesn’t mind too much. Hopefully it’s just temporary anyway. I’m going to the ranger building to talk to Aeramin’s father later.

Leave a Reply

