[Story] Thorns – Letter to Marjolaine

Dear Rose,

Don’t worry, everything is fine. We did really well this season with the shop, I haven’t finished doing the books yet but I think we’ll even be ahead of last year. I guess not being in a war encourages people to buy things. Ran some tests on that ore that you found, it seems to be really good stuff. I tried mixing it with various other kinds of ore to see what it can do, still working on shaping and testing that. I’ll spare you all the details, but I definitely think it’s usable. Pup went back to his lessons this week, it’s been awfully cold so I make sure that he wears his jacket. To tell you the truth, I think he is glad to finally get out of the house for a little while. Spring can’t come soon enough. I still have your gift here, I expect that Josie probably got you something too.

The real reason I’m writing is that Nash and I were approached with a job offer last night. We were just out getting some drinks and playing cards, when a mage came in. He stood out right away in the place we were at, of course, though he claimed he came here often. I’ve certainly never seen him before, but the address he gave was nearby. Either he actually does live in the area, or he’s renting a place here. Could be both. He certainly had gold to throw around. First thing he does is insult us, imply that we’re low-lives for being in a place like this, and we’re going to run off with his money. That may be part of the problem he’s having, just a hunch. He said he’s after some rare books, he wouldn’t say what they were exactly but he insisted they weren’t illegal. I have a feeling it’s not as simple as that, if they were so easy to get, he wouldn’t be hiring outside help to get them. He did say they were guarded, by what, I have no idea. I know of the ruins of the old magic academy there in the Plaguelands, but I’m not sure if that is what he’s after. I told him I’d check in with you about it, but he’s offering a lot of money. Even if we have to close the shop for a couple of weeks, the pay should more than make up for it. Besides, this is a slow time of year anyway. I can get caught up on stock, provided we’re not camping out in the middle of nowhere. Nash was interested in going to, not least of all because the books are supposed to be in Thalassian. I offered the guy translation services for an added fee. Nash says he’s not sure if he can do it, but my Common is decent and I could probably fake enough Thalassian to get by. It’s similar enough to Darnassian, and I remember that (in spite of my efforts otherwise).

Of course that would leave Josie to run the shop, unless you want her to join you there. If you think it’s safe for Pup to come with us, we’ll take him. I’m just not sure of all the details yet, and the last thing I want to do is put him in danger. As much as I hate to admit it, he might be better with you and Josie. Tell me what you think either way. He gave us an address, and a day to meet back at the tavern. I hope things are going well there, but I also hope you come home soon.  I miss you and it’s cold at night.

~ Harrier

Leave a Reply

