[Story] The Ghostclaw – Letter to Nessna

My dearest kitten,

I hope you don’t mind that I wrote you a letter, I’m never very good at saying things even when I’ve practiced them over and over in my head. Besides, this way you can save it and read it later if you like. Maybe if I’ve done something stupid and you need to be reminded why you put up with me.

It’s hard to believe how much can change in a year. I guess you might not remember it very well; you had so much going on then. We’d both just returned from Kalimdor, and you were still quite badly injured. I remember that Lani wouldn’t even let you out of bed to walk around the garden. I can’t imagine what it would be like to come back alone as you did, and trying to adjust to everything again. For me, it was the first time I’d been even close to Silvermoon in more than two years. I’d spent them alone, away from everyone — even my family — by my own choosing. I think it helped, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t lonely. At last year’s ball though, I was only concerned with making sure the party was safe and no one came who wasn’t supposed to. I was worried about getting the ranger quarters built and finding enough people to help out. Your offer was a great relief and gave me some hope that maybe it would work out after all.

Of course it didn’t take very long for me to notice all of the other things about you, but I was certain it was far too early for you to even consider that. I know you must miss him still sometimes, and probably always will. I just hope he knows that you and Rylad are being looked after and he wouldn’t be too upset. If you ever talk to him, make sure he knows that. If I was in his place, I’d have done the same without a moment’s hesitation. Hopefully he knows that too.

While I was away all that time, I often thought I’d never really be happy again. There were times I thought I should just stay away forever, forgotten out in the wilds. I’m glad that I didn’t. I still find it hard to believe that you’d be interested in me. I’m not perfect and I make mistakes sometimes, a lot of times if you ask certain people. I don’t know if I deserve someone as good as you and Rylad, but I try my best to prove that I do.

I could hardly believe my ears when you asked about Rylad being a brother last night. You did say that, right? If you feel it’s the right time then I am ready too. I’ll even take your patrols if you need me to, you know, if you need me to. Not that I don’t think you can do it, but it might be hard to carry your bow or something.

Love always,
Sath

PS – The chair is the best gift I’ve ever got. It’s perfect. I feel like a king when I sit on it! Did Rylad’s grandfather make it? If so, I hope that means he doesn’t dislike me anymore.

Leave a Reply

