[Story] Thorns – A Letter Home

[[ A letter sent to the watch and clock shop in Old Town, addressed simply “Elf”. ]]

I’m still getting my bearings here. Unfortunately, the map that you gave me is completely useless, nothing at all is the same. I later learned that’s because this is actually a different version of Outland, further in the past. That seems like the sort of thing the mage making the portal should have warned me about, you know? I don’t know what will happen when I come back, whether I’ll be older or younger, or what will happen. The place I’m staying is an outpost in the forest, and it’s surprisingly busy. Seems other people had the same idea that I had. Most of the other towns in the area are built and populated by draenei. It’s not bad, really, it’s just a lot different than what I’m used to. They’re friendly, if wary — which is understandable — but I feel so much like an outsider among them. I guess that’s probably how you felt when you came to Stormwind.

Speaking of which, there was an elf at the inn last night while I ate supper. There were a lot of other people too, including a troll and a cursed Gilnean simply walking around in his wolf shape. No one seemed to mind, however. I guess that kind of thing is less shocking out here, but I still thought it in poor taste. I spoke to this elf for a while, she asked if I was looking for work (I guess it’s that obvious), and mentioned a bounty for information about some shamans or elemental lords. To be frank, I hadn’t the first clue what she was talking about. I always considered myself fairly worldly, but I haven’t the first idea where to even begin finding that out. I guess that’s why there’s a bounty. If you are able to find anything out, I can look into it. I know you’re good at that.

I’m told there is a mining operation here, I’ll go by tomorrow and see if I can get a sample of the ore they’re digging. I don’t know if it’s suitable for working with, but it must be if they’re bothering to mine it. The elf told me that there is a great demand for supplies here as well, since everything must be either scavenged or traded with the local draenei villages. Some can be ported via mages, though this is very exhausting for them and they cannot maintain the portal very long. So that’s a fruit that demands to be picked. If only we knew some mages! I wonder if there’s a way to make them able to cast spells longer.

Many of the people here have heavy shirts woven with stripes in both directions, I’m told they are quite warm but they look absurd. That almost makes me want one, however. I should ask about buying one. I could get one for you as well, maybe a blue one. That elf told me she was three hundred years old. Are you that old? I can’t imagine living for that long.

Tell Josie that I miss her, and I’ll do my best to be back for Winter’s Veil, but I cannot be sure how long I will stay here. I may well find more work, there is much of it — real, honest work outside. I admit that a part of me misses that. And I haven’t any idea how time works, whether I’ll return to the same time as you or not. I haven’t been able to get a straight answer from anyone yet. Tell Pup to keep at his lessons. His gift is hidden in the big trunk underneath the bed, though he’s probably already gone in and peeked at it. Make sure that Alinash is safe and getting his food. You and Josie had best be getting along, you need her to look pretty and take orders from customers, because Light knows you can’t.

I think that’s all for now.

Be safe,
Marjolaine

 

Leave a Reply

