[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

That kid from the school is nothing if not persistent. He walked — or teleported, I guess — up to the ranger building and stood outside my window singing a song. I don’t know how he got the right window, either he was lucky or he’s been planning this for a while. And he wrote the song himself, I don’t remember all of it but it mentioned my eyes and my hair and the moon. It’s more embarrassing than flattering though, we’ve barely spoken so I don’t know how he can claim to love me. I can’t help but wonder if I’m making a mistake though, I mean what if he really does? Sure it would be weird to have a much younger husband, and one who wears fancy robes, but would it be so bad? Not to mention all the gold? Sunashe is nice, but he just seems very low-key about it all.

Keyalenn wanted to come into my room, which I explained wasn’t allowed. The last thing I need is to get in trouble from him, too. Vellira wasn’t in there at the time, but she could have come in and she often likes to come out of the bath without anything on. So I told Keyelenn he could sit in the common room for a while, but Ty and Sunashe were there. Neither of them said anything. I thought for sure that Sunashe would have, especially when Keyalenn started talking about me going camping with him. Maybe we’re not as together as I thought? Or maybe he just wanted to go camping and none of the rest of it. I’ve already told Keyalenn probably a hundred times that it wouldn’t work out, so I think hearing it from someone else might actually get through to him. But Sunashe didn’t say anything at all. Later he said it was because he thought I could handle it. Which I can, and I guess I see his point, but I don’t think he really hears it when I say it. Then Sunashe left to take the dishes into the kitchen, and when he came back he said he loves me. What am I supposed to say to that? We know each other a bit better, but not that well. He still hardly talks to me, and he doesn’t write songs about me. Not that I expect that of course but… something. He said he would go up to the school and tell Keyalenn tomorrow, but now I wonder if I should instead. I wish there was a way to know what will happen in the future, it would make decisions so much easier. I’ve heard there are mages that can do that, but it’s not a very well known school of magic. I wonder if the ones at the school can do it. I wonder if Keyalenn can?

I still think sometimes about the ones who didn’t love me, too. I know I shouldn’t but I can’t help it. What was missing to them that Keyalenn and Sunashe see?

 

Leave a Reply

