[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

Sunashe and I left for our camping trip last night. The students at the school are actually packing to take their own trip there very soon, so it worked out well — practice, the mage said. It was the dark-haired one, the one who teaches frost magic. He lives in Shattrath, so I trust that his portal there will actually work. I’ve heard Aeramin’s are sometimes unreliable. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to bring my own sleeping roll or not, so I did. There was only one tent, as I’d guessed, and I put it up while Sunashe worked on the fire.

It’s a lot warmer there than it is here, though there was still a slight chill in the air, probably because we were in fairly deep forest. It was near the place we’d found all of the lizards and moths, though we chose a spot up higher so they wouldn’t wander through our camp. I think the fire probably kept them away, as well, but we did cook fish for supper. If any of the lizards were attracted to it, they kept hidden. It was a nice night though, the air there is very clear and there are rarely any clouds, so you can see the moons distinctly. It’s a lot like when we sit outside at the targets, except of course that Ty or Vellira aren’t listening.

It was still kind of awkward, though. I tried to get him to talk about things, I didn’t really know how so I asked a lot of questions. I asked about life in the city and things like that, but he didn’t seem to want to talk about it much. I guess I can understand that. He said he didn’t have any interest in meeting city girls and would have just stayed alone forever if he hadn’t come here to the rangers. Then I asked what if there hadn’t been any girls here, because if he joined to meet girls that’s probably not the best way. I guess I was just wondering if it really was because I was the only girl or not. He says not, but I still wonder sometimes. Not that it really matters now I suppose, but I would like to get to know him better. We hardly ever have time alone together and then when we do, he wants to talk about his lizard or something. Thankfully he didn’t last night, there’s that at least. It was nice though, I mean all of it was nice but the best part was simply resting with his arms around me. It felt so nice and comfortable, just that cozy feeling was what I really missed, I think. I don’t know when we’ll be able to be like that again, the captain doesn’t allow women in the mens’ quarters at night. Closets might be okay for Vellira — I think she finds the danger exciting, actually — but it’s not for me. It just feels, I don’t know, cheap or something. Sunashe said we could go out after patrols and stay in the woods. At first I think he just meant for a couple of hours or something, which didn’t really sit well with me. We’d have to find a place that isn’t too dangerous, and isn’t right on any patrol routes. I don’t know if it’s really practical, but I like the idea of it. At least for now. I don’t really know what will happen in the future, maybe it’s too soon to worry about things like that. I should just be glad for right now and enjoy his company, but I wonder if he’s unsure too. He says he and Ty never talk, which I know isn’t true. That night in the kitchen they said that Sunashe talks about me a lot, but would never say what. And I know how much Vellira likes to talk about Ty. Maybe he’s embarrassed? Everyone already knows we’re on this trip together, and it’s nothing to be embarrassed about. We’re not the ones hiding in the closet!

Anyway, I figure we can stay another night or two here. I’m hoping we can find some vegetables or roots or something to cook with our fish tonight. I wish Sunashe had brought some bread, but he said he forgot. How could he forget, Orledin makes piles of it every day! He did bring some rice along with, but we finished that last night. The only problem is, I don’t know the plants here well enough to know what’s safe or edible. Maybe we’ll end up going to the restaurant in the city.

Leave a Reply

