[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

We had another visitor to the ranger building last night. When Ty said there was someone to see me, I just assumed that it was someone else wanting to join, but as soon as I saw him I knew that wasn’t the case. He was wearing expensive clothes, and looked obviously out of place. He said that he was there because he wanted me to marry his son. For a second I thought he meant Sunashe, and I couldn’t remember Sunashe ever talking about his family. But I guess I should have known better, it was that kid from the mage school.

Of course these kinds of things only happen when there are people there to overhear it, it wouldn’t be embarrassing enough otherwise! He actually started offering me money if I would marry the kid from the school. I laughed but then he started raising the price. Fifty thousand gold if I agreed to it, plus another five hundred a month until he finishes mage school. That’s a lot of gold, probably more than I’ll ever see in my life. I figured he was bluffing, so I called him on it, I said he didn’t have it. He claims that he does. I wanted to know why they’re so eager to marry this kid off that they’re willing to bribe me with a pile of gold. I know there are a thousand girls in Silvermoon who would jump at that offer. He told me that I could take time to think it over. I don’t know why no one in his family will take no for an answer, but he must have known that my “no” was starting to waver a little. That’s a lot of money! I know money’s not everything. Plenty of people have tons of money, and they’re miserable. But I think it would be a lot better to be miserable with money than without. The guy said I could still live out here. I don’t know, it’s not like he’s that horrible. Could I do it? I don’t know.

I asked Ty what he would do, but he didn’t know either. He said he would have probably accepted before he met Vellira. She wasn’t much help either, she said I should accept the money and then just have Sunashe on the side. I’m pretty sure neither of them would go for that. I guess if things were more serious with him I could just tell the guy that, but they aren’t. Nothing’s really changed back at the building except that he smiles at me more. And I’m not sure that I’m ready to marry anyone just yet. What if Sunashe just paid that guy to come and say those things so I’d pick him instead? I guess it’s possible.

I’ll probably mention it to him, but I’ll make it sound like something funny that happened. It’s just difficult to find time to talk to him alone, unless we go on a patrol together.

 

Leave a Reply

