[Story] Fairsong Academy – Maerista’s Journal

I went to see Lani at her office the other night. I hadn’t been feeling very well lately, and in the evenings I’m so tired I thought that something must be wrong. I sure didn’t expect Lani to say that I am going to have a baby. It’s weird to write that, I still can’t really believe it! I guess in the back of my mind I had an idea that it could be possible, but I drank the tea! Except Lani said that you actually have to start a couple of weeks before, and drink it the same time every day and never miss once. And even then, it’s not perfect. She said that sometimes women still have babies even with it. So I guess I’m a little upset that I didn’t know that beforehand, but at the same time I’m happy too. I know I wanted us to have a family, it’s just a lot sooner than we expected.

I was really worried that Gael would be upset, or angry with me, or something. Or maybe he didn’t actually want to have any children, except that Lani pointed out that he was building extra rooms in our house. Even so, I was nervous to tell him and I thought I was going to throw up the whole day before I talked to him. Even worse than usual! Lani told me she is expecting too, except it’s a secret so I can’t tell anyone. She is going to tell the Confessor by making him a cake that says “Congratulations Ann’da” on it. That’s a really good idea, I wish I’d thought of it, but I don’t want to take hers. I just told Gael that we needed a baby room for the house. At first I told him I went to see Lani and he was all scared that I was sick or going to die or something! He’s funny sometimes. So we need to hurry and have the wedding soon, otherwise I’m not going to fit into any of my dresses and people will be able to see. And they’ll say awful things about me. So it’s a secret for now although I don’t know how I’m going to keep from telling people! After talking to Gael about it, I’m actually kind of excited now. Decorating the room will be fun! Lani is going to get Vaildor to paint animals on the walls for their room. It’ll be so fun being pregnant at the same time, and I bet the babies will be best friends. I know the Magister will be excited when he finds out, he and Ter love babies and they miss having Rylad to play with. I hope the baby looks just like Gael, it will be so adorable! I’m glad he’s excited. He’ll make a great ann’da.

On the other hand, I don’t know if I’ll tell my parents yet or not. I guess it should wait until after the wedding. They’ll probably be happy, because it’ll be their grandchild, but they might not be so happy that it’s so soon, or that the father is a ranger. But they can just get over it if they want to see him or her! Next time we go to the library, I need to get some books about babies, but somehow do it without anyone noticing. That’s going to be tricky.

 

Leave a Reply

